Ceramic help and house chores help needed near the ocean in Aquitaine, SW France

Country

France

Favourited 821 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/05/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    589

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    2009, I started to create a summer artist studio in Saint Vincent de Tyrosse in the south french atlantic coast. Together with friends and family, we transformed the former automobile workshop of my grand father into a large working studio and renovated the former hotel to make more comfortable rooms for airbnb guests, friends and fellow artists to stay at.

    Last fall my companion and I moved from Germany to live and work in the house all year.

    We made some research at the regional archives and found out that the buildings belong to our family since the french revolution. The first house was called "Merveille" after our ancestor Jean Daraspen who always found everything marvelous.
    My sister and I are taking care of this project in July and August. I am a graduate of the Düsseldorf Academy of Art in Germany and my sister just finished her master in sustainable architecture in Gent, Belgium.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We encourage initiatives and creativity. Our philisophy is that everyone feels best if they do what they love most. We propose a work frame, from 8AM til 1PM in general so that the afternoon is free but are open to adjustments and wish for people to make the schedule fit and be independent in what they do, make propositions, have ideas, and then just make them happen with each other's help.

    The name of our house is "wonder" and our goal is that everyone here has a wonderful time.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I can use help from someone with a bit of experience in ceramic hand building. Making plates, bowls, loading the kiln, some precision glazing.
    My

    It is also possible to help with simple house chores like cooking lunch and diner, cleaning up, grocery shopping while we are working.
    Our baby boy Sol is 17 month and going to kindergarten but we can use a bit of help taking care of him in the evening or Saturday.
    We have just started our art production in the studio again (sculpture, ceramics, pottery and photography) and are happy with any help to make things go smoother forward.

    An experience carpenter is also very welcome because we always build and improve and need help in that area and handyman in general.

    We like people to feel good and be happy in our home so you will have to find out how to help us and have a good time all together. We are all working hard ourselves but having nice food and enjoying the beach and nature and we like to share our knowledge of our beautifull region.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one room with two small beds or one double room with private bathroom available. We provide bed sheets, blankets, towels for our guests.
    Food wise we like to go to the market and get fresh local fruits and vegetables. Also meat or fish once in a while.
    We have some bikes that can be lent. The ocean is about 12km away. Bus in the region cost 50cent and you can take your bike inside for longer distance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The south west atlantic coast in the region of les Landes is very beautiful and has many highlights. We often drive to the beach in Seignosse, Hossegor or Capbreton, sometimes we make bigger trips to the basque country, to Spain or for hikes in the Pyrenees. In the evening we like to have film projections.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 537847938948