Help out at our hostel/builder/carpenter perhaps in Nova Scotia Mahone Bay/Lunenburg , Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 142 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/03/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for people to spend usually three hours a day in our hostel in exchange for their bed and use of a bike (if required) - cleaning & changing beds definitely, maybe some gardening if you're interested, phone duty perhaps and/or being here to help check people in in the afternoon. Starting soon would be ideal.

    We are also looking for a bit of a carpenter/builder/handyman/woman. Drywalling, painting, repairs, construction ... let us know your skills and we'll let you know if we have something for you! If you come as a pair, so much the better! We have a campervan for helper accommodation.

    Someone with website design skills (possibly wordpress) would also be handy to update our hostel webpage and stay for a few days to a week. Please send any previous applicable work for reference.

    The hostel can be completely full one night, and completely empty the next. Even completely full we're only 11 people so it isn't a big, crowded hostel with plenty of cleaning to do! There is no real regular routine to it, so come knowing that you might be sleeping in the camper van if we're totally full (you can sleep there anyways if you want privacy), or you might have the whole place entirely to yourself.

    We usually need someone to change beds, clean up, (usually does not take long) maybe do some gardening or painting, even better if you are musical to entertain at the fire pit!!
    We do need a handyman/builder, someone pretty versatile all our buildings are wooden and there is always a few small jobs to do, and a few projects we want to get done like a rock wall and finishing a chicken coop!!
    Once the work is done the day is yours, a beach, a bike ride, a hike a coffee, a beer in town perhaps? The closest town is Mahone Bay which is 3 kilometers away, Lunenburg is about 6 kilometres away, we are ideally located.
    How bad could that be? :) :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a small hostel located in an ideal perfect summer location close to the quintessential seaside town of Mahone Bay and the UNESCO world heritage town of Lunenburg on the Lighthouse Route, just an hour from Halifax. Close to beaches, farmers market, hiking trails and more. The hostel has bikes for rent, and our volunteers are able to use the bikes for free during their stay. There is one 6-person dorm room, a private double and a private triple. It's colourful, creative and there's plenty of free wifi.

    The people who stay here are the kinds of people who want to get together, eat a meal & have a few beers or wines and have a campfire in our huge backyard .. maybe cooking up a few smores. For the most part our guests are chilled, relaxed and great company. As we are on 2.5 acres in the country you'll likely get to meet lots of wildlife: deer, owls, bats, coyotes, bears, frogs, pheasants ... lots more! And with no street lights you can get a clear, unobstructed view of the millions of stars up there each night.

  • Help

    Help

    Our hostel is small - there are three bedrooms, two bathrooms and a combined common room & kitchen. We ask that the hostel be cleaned as required (every day when there are guests staying in the hostel) - beds changed as guests leave, bathrooms cleaned, etc. If you happen to be a builder, we have some ongoing projects in our house and we would love for you to help out there instead of in the hostel!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Either a bed in the hostel (co-ed dorm room) OR private bed(s) in the camper (it's great to share if there are more than one of you - either a couple or two friends).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We do have three children who live in the house with us. They will spend time with you if you like children, or keep well out of your way if you don't like them! The hostel is quiet - it can be empty one night and full the next. We do have one cat, but she stays out of the hostel. Because we are out of town, having a vehicle is convenient but not necessary. You can have full use of our bicycles while you are here, and we are happy to give you a lift into town when we are headed that way.
    We have beaches nearby, and the local town of Mahone Bay is just 3 k's away, there are cafes, restaurants, a pub and paddle boarding.
    We always have some building work and painting to be done and there are always weeds in the garden.
    Our past helpers have done a couple of hours work each day and gone for a swim or gone into town, some have volunteered in the community and some have got a job.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours a day, max 5 days a week, max 25 hours






Host ref number: 855723771878