Help with a community farming project near Toledo, Spain




Favourited 561 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days


 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a community project and look for volunteers to participate like one of us in all chores (outdoor and in the house). Now we are not too much people living, We are three people (Sonia, Barbara and Laura) and some others (spanish and foreigners and of course the usually visits from la MAMMMA Jany "La Moderna") who come over often to give a hand in our self-management farm, which has a vegetable garden, chickens and hens, pigs, cats and dogs and birds, recycling bio-construction, etc. We go to Toledo every week, where we sell our fruit and vegetables. We also have a wood oven at home, where we cook our own artesanal bread, pizzas, focaccias, etc.
    We live at seven km from the closest village (Polán). We are in the middle of the country side but just 10 minutes drive away from all shops and services you may need.
    To get here you just need to take a bus to Polán from Mendez Alvarez (Madrid). You will arrive in an hour and a half to the village, where we will come to pick you up. You can also come from Toledo by bus in less than half an hour,
    You may need to bring your owns bed sheets and blankets for the bed.
    We have WiFi at home.
    Ah! Sometimes some of us work as clowns too. ;)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here travellers can learn about ecological vegetable farming, looking after chickens and hens, bio-construction, cooking homemane bread and pizza and sustainable way of life. They will also benefit from the experience of living as part of a community.
    We love meeting new people from different ages, countries and backgrounds. Volunteers will improve or learn languages here and get to know better our local culture.

  • Help


    We need some help in many different chores (we would adjust to your interests and skills): vegetable garden, hens and chickens, bio and recycling-construction, house work, wood oven cooking...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We have two rooms for volunters, one with three beds and other with two beds

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's posible to get to Toledo by bus in around 20 minutes, where you could spend your free days.
    You can also go walking to the Monte de Noez (higest montain around the area).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 931353148377