1 / 5

Share your animation skills with our family and learn from our natural lifestyle in the Vosges mountains, France

  • France
  • Favourited 17 times
  • Last activity: 20/10/2022




  • Description


    Former family of volunteers around the world are now looking for some exchange in our countryside home :)
    Please visit us if you like to play with kids. Do you do any sports or you draw, or you're able to do some little sewing or wood building création or mechanical project or science expérience... the kids will love you :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a "world family" as, we met in Canada, Xavier is from a Spanish family, born in New Caledonia and I'm from Alsace. So we will be pleased to talk about where we come from, where we were (I love to talk about my time backpacking around the world :) ) and how we decided to live now, with all we learnt during our travels, about ecology, healthy life, sharing... and much more ! :)

    As well, Xavier plays rock music and likes wood work-renovating with what he can find and I can share my passion about caring parenting, kids' instruction (we are homeschooling :) ) and nature (organic gardening, plants, animals..)

    I usually go out 2 times a week, with the kids and some friends. (mainly in the forest, depends on the weather). Sometimes to build cabin in the wood, have a walk or just to have nice time, kids playing, mum's talking about education/instruction, healthy cooking... so you'll be welcome to join us on our adventures !

    And of course we will be happy to help you practicing French ! ;)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We are looking for 1 traveller or a couple to share their skills with our 2 kids (girl 7 and boy 11)
    So you can share your "talents" that we don't have at home ! ;)

    According to your capacity...

    Our boy really like "sport" well energic activities, so we are looking for somebody that will play ballgame with him or Parkour running or biking (in the yard)... For our girl it will more be like dancing or yoga...

    Our girl like manual creation like braiding, sewing, cooking... Our boy like "car mechanic" and building so if you'll be able to do some little project with them that's pretty cool.

    Otherwise, both kids like drawing, animals and being outside.

    As well if you like science it will be nice to share too... some simple home expériences, like way to light a light, volcano with soda powder...

    We thought maybe around 3 hours of playing with the kids maybe not in a row and then help in commun house activities (cooking, dishes, table, tiding up...) or outside works (gardening, help on the renovation, preparing fire wood...)

    Family with kid(s) around the age of our's may be welcome, depending on some criteria, contact us with your motivations, for more info. :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Welcome in our really nice and warm wooden home, in a village of the Vosges mountain, 15 minutes of the famous Gérardmer !

    The accomodation is the more difficult part for me ;) As I did a lot of volunteering, sometimes I had a really good accommodation sometimes a horrible ;) So I really would like to propose a really nice one .. but we are not there yet... we don't have a proper guest room in the house yet... But I thought I'll try anyway, maybe some of you will like to sleep in our camper !

    So It depends on how long you'll stay, if you are alone or if you are a family and the weather...

    First, if you're alone and just for a little week,
    We can propose a couch in our "Library", which mean not to much privacy for you during the day as kids may come to gets books and as well this room leads to an other one... It is a nice room but a bit cold in winter...
    If you're two, the same but just smaller for you... as it's not really big...

    Otherwise, We can propose our old camper in our yard, (for 1 person or more...)
    Thing is that we are in the "mountain" and it may be cold in winter, so you'll need a good sleeping bag and not be chilly. We can provide, linen too and blankets but be aware that it may be coooold... ;) Oh and in summer it may be really hot too :)

    Of course during the day, you are welcome to sit next to the stove or in the shade of our home :)

    We don't eat meat at home, (exept if somedody is coming with a traditional meal made with love <3 Xavier and kids may try it ;) )
    We are as well cooking mainly without gluten and dairy product (except for cheese, we eat some)
    We are Not Big Eaters, but try to eat healthy so hopefully you won't starve ;)

    The exchange may be different from one to the other on what we provide, according to the deal we agreed while we organised your stay (time of work, familly...)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From our Home, you can go for some walks and there is a cool horse riding place in the village, if you like :)
    Otherwise there is a lot to see in the area of Gérardmer :) we will have to check together which transport you can use to the different places if it's not on our planning...

    We live a really simple life, maybe a bit old school :)
    Being happy with the little moments of every days. Renovating our home and having time with our children.
    Living in harmony with the nature around us and looking to be even more close to it little by little.
    We are inspired by the 3R : Reduce, Re-use and Recycle ;)
    For us it is important to respect and tolerate everybody and every little things even with our differences.

    We speak both good english, Xavier speaks well spanish me a little bit and I speak basic German but I understand it well normally ;)

    We have a lovely cat, some chicken and ducks and a lot of different animals in the garden, like bees, mouses, spider...

    We are looking for smiling, responsible, honnest, respectfull, loyal and clean persons.
    It may be good if you are quit independant and able to take initiatives, otherwise we will try to figure it out together ;)

    And with our previous experiences we'd like to add :
    You are not in an hotel ! It should be an healthy exchange for both of us ;) (no phone at the table and while working, helping to put on the table, put it away, washing hands before eating, air your room daily, asking before taking stuff it's not yours or commun need, looking for what you want not just ask we do it for you, (like ; you don't put your hand up at the table asking for coffe, yes really we had that !!! ) clean or put away after used... those things need to be common sens, even in non-working days) Thanks for your understanding :)

    Please contact us with your motivations and in which "project(s)" you can help (specially with kids - cf our profile) and which exchange you are interrested in (learning language, discovering the area, learning about our way to live...) :) Feel free to ask as much question as you need to be confortable :)

    Welcome in our Life ! :) Looking forward to nice and fun exchanges :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Nice yard for you to park !

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 853842425457