Help us develop our family domain in the beautiful Morvan in France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 60 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: Want to help us build a platform (wood) and mount a yurt? We are looking for one or two people to help us get ready for the tourist season. It requires some physical strength and skill with simple woodworking tools (like drill and miter saw). The area around the yurt and the pathway to it also needs weeding to get our yurt spot ready to receive visitors in July.

    Because we are still in a pandemic, we try to limit physical contact but we also assume that you have no symptoms in the two weeks before you come to us. You'll have your own firetruck/campervan to live in and own toilet and shower (see photos) but we'll have meals together in our house. We are limiting our contact with other people too, we work from home and our oldest does not go to school.

    Looking forward to meeting you!!

    - - - - - - -

    Salut! We are a young family living on an old farm in a beautiful regional park in France. The house and garden were neglected for 20 years before we bought it two years ago. We've renovated a big part of the house, and will now turn to the garden. We always have work to do. Varying from pruning to rebuilding old stone walls, to landscaping, painting and preparing the vegetable garden. We (Stef and Lisa) have been living in the Morvan for 6 years, and have two daughters of 3,5y and 1y old, Frida and Nora. We also have a dog, two cats, and chickens.

    We've had a lot of Workawayers last year and we loved getting to know new people. We are so grateful for all the work that they have done, with two small kids we are quite busy and we always have more to do than we can handle.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer you an insight in two cultures, mostly Dutch but also French. You will experience setting up a homestead and living life at a 'slow pace' as we try to do. We are very intentional about how we live and why we chose to live here. Our English is good, Lisa speaks French as well and a bit of Spanish, and we also speak Dutch of course. Our daughter speaks both Dutch and French.

    We're happy to share our skills with you. We also encourage you to think about how you want to complete a job, we won't be like a 'boss' but we'll work alongside you. A lot of the work we do we figure out on the spot too. We can also share our experiences about living in the countryside, moving to a different country, working remote, running your own company.

  • Help

    Help

    Our terrain is a diamond in the rough: it has great features but it has been neglected for 20 years. The work outside is mainly clearing weeds and bushes, pruning, planting, wood construction, building or restoring stone walls, constructing wood fences, painting, renovation work on the house, etc. On rainy days we'll make jam and other preserves. The work depends on your physical strength and your interests.

    If you like we'd also love it if you help with cooking every now and then, to share recipes and cuisines. Babysitting is not required but it is a big plus if you like to spend time with children since our outgoing preschooler will surely like to spend time with you :).

    In March we prepare the garden for a new season: finishing the veg garden, planting a hedge and other fruit bushes, fruit trees. We'll be making repairs on the cabane and the yurt platform, and installing a new system for the composting toilet with reedbed fillter. We're also builing a low drystone wall.

    In April we're mounting the yurt, decorating it and weeding the garden around it. Finishing off the veg garden, and building wooden planters. We're also preparing a large area for grass seeding.

    In May we go shopping for plants for the veg garden and plant them. We also prepare the space for the bus, do some repair work, prepare the new tent area for Workawayers.

    In Summer we'll aquire two new pieces of land that needs some clearing, we'll build some new fences, and do some fun projects, build a chicken coop.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For your accommodation in the spring we have a fire truck turned camper van, you can sleep in the camper or in the roof tent (with great view). It has heating, water and electricity so you have a nice space to yourself. It needs a bit of repair too so if that interests you you can also participate in that. In summer we rent out the camper van, and we have a tent set up for you. It has a raised bed, and shared shower/toilet in an outdoor cabane (with hot water), and a nice view. We love to have all our meals together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The region has a lot of hiking and mountain biking possibilities, and there are nice lakes where you can swim. There's a horse riding ranch nearby. We live 20 minutes by car from a very nice historical town where you will find restaurants, a cinema, a market every week, etc. It was founded by the Romans and there are still a lot of historical monuments to see. There is no public transport so you will need a car to get around. We can also show you the most beautiful hike of the region.

    We cook vegetarian, but we eat fish occasionally. We would appreciate it if you'd join us in this. We're not really strict (except for the no meat rule) but we try to eat as healthy as possible. We eat mostly fresh produce, nothing too fancy but no processed food, not too much sugar, etc.

    We both work from home most of the time so we will be able to assist you in the work. Lisa does this three days a week when both kids are at school and daycare. Lisa also has her own business designing sewing patterns. Stef works from home as a front end developer. We prefer to give you your days off during the week and on Wednesday, as we have time to work together with you on the weekends. Wednesday is our 'family day' when everyone is at home.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 115741524913