Join our sociable family and live on a small lake in McKellar, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 7 times
  • Last activity: 29/12/2022

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a very sociable active family interested in many things. There is always a project on the go. Work will be varied with lots of free time.
    We live on a small lake in a remote area with lots of surrounding woods. We have several outpost cabins that we visit frequently on family outings. I live at the cottage and my husband Dan is here 4 days a week. Friends and family visit on weekends.
    I have an older gentle dog and 3 chickens which I inherited somehow.
    We have had helpers from another organization and Rotary exchange students in the past and it has been a mutually enjoyable experience.
    You are welcome to join us on outings.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Most of the family is very athletic so we have lots of running, biking, 4 wheeler and cross country ski trails in our woods. We are very knowledgeable about the animals and birds in the area. We have travelled extensively to remote areas of the world and have lots of stories to share. Four members of my family have summited Mt Everest.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Projects include furniture, boats, toy change over with the seasons, some carpentry, cleaning, organizing, painting, cooking, pet care, gardening depending on the time of year. You will work along with me or Dan on some projects and alone on others. I try to vary activities.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    My daughter-in-law is French Canadian and her children speak both French and English. They live with my son in Quebec. We travelled to Mexico, South America and Central America for years and my husband is almost fluent in Spanish but gets very little practise now.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Homestay - You will have your own room. There are 3 complete bathrooms in the house. Generally you will have a bathroom to yourself unless someone is here on weekends.
    You will be expected to help with meals and clean up. We try to eat healthy meals but love desserts at dinner. Breakfast and lunch are a serve yourself affair. Dinner is a sit down family get together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I travel into the closest town being Parry Sound or to the city of Barrie weekly. You are welcome to join us on outings. Summer are lake activities - boating, skiing, kayaking, SUP. Fall/spring is hiking, biking and 4 wheelers. Winter is cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snowmobiling. Several family members run all year round.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have unlimited internet but occasionally it acts up. Several of my children worked online from the cottage during Covid. I am not very tech but all my children are very good with the internet and computers.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 848172375733

Photos

Feedback

Help with several outdoor and building projects in Nova Scotia, Canada
Experience the gorgeous mountains of Golden, British Columbia, Canada