Join us on our family farm near Granada, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 218 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Lucía and i live with my small family at my farm in Las gabias, a village very close to Granada (it is a small city but very complete: there is a ski station 30 minutes by car and beach also 30 m drive, lot of university students from all over the world, restaurants, night life, monuments...).
    We always have a lot of tasks to do. We have a lot of andalusian horses and we also have other animals like ponies, a donkey, sheeps, goats, pigs, ducks, chickens, dogs, cats and a long etc.
    I'm living with my father Luis (83 years old) and my brother Carlos (25 years old). You will live at the farm with us :)

    Since 10 years, i'm working as a riding teacher and doing rutes in the field with horses. I love my work and you can learn a lot with me. You will have the opportunity to join the classes or routes sometimes, when I have free horses.

    On weekends we run a small business which is a paintball field, riding lessons and rutes and birthday celebrations. You won’t have to work on weekends nor participate in any business related activities. Only I need help during the week for the day to day of the animals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Volunteers would have the opportunity to know the spanish culture, we also love to meet people from other countries and learn about them. We will love to cook spanish food for you and also try typicall food from your country. In exchange of some of your time helping us, you would enjoy your time discovering Granada and the sorroundings. Granada is a very touristic city, and people love it!
    Furthermore, you can learn a lot about animals especially about horses and you can ride when it is possible.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    On the farm there are a lot of different works. You can help me with the garden (I LOVE STRONGLY flowers. I'm very crazy with them. Always that i can i buy millions), with cooking or clean the house and the farm... but the most important are the animals, so we need most of the help with them. You can feed them, clean the boxes, help me with a lot of things because in the farm live a lot of kind of animals. You won’t have to work on weekends nor participate in any business related activities. Only I need help during the week for the day to day of the animals.

    *Please understand that it gets time to know what and how to feed the animals, and the first week its a lot about learning. Because of that we give priority to volunteers that want to stay for at least 3 weeks.

    *Winter its cold and summer is very hot, mucking stables gets you tired and there are flies around. Remember this is a farm, so if you want to volunteer with us and you are not use to farms make sure you are prepared for challenges.

    *Please be honest about your horse experience! Many people tend to overstimate their skills.

    We are super happy to have volunteers around, work together and share knowledge and good moments.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two rooms available at the farm. One of them with a small kitchen. You could be sharing room with another volunteer or be the only one at the time. Shared bathroom. I'm living next door, you won´t be alone :) The rooms are in the entrance of the farm, which is quite calm, not just next to the stables. Carlos and Luis also live on the farm, near the stables.

    We eat luch together every day, but the breakfast and dinner you can eat when ever you want.

    The bus station is very close.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    there is infinite space to park

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Máximo 4-5 horas al día, 5 días a la semana

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)







Host ref number: 257726833571