Help in and around our home on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 180 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple, living in a beautiful seaside community on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, 35 minutes drive or 50 minute bus ride to a ferry (40 minute ferry ride) with easy connections to downtown Vancouver. Our home is on Porpoise Bay with 2/3 of an acre of trees, shrubs, flowers and vegetables.

    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️ We are non-smokers and definitely NOT interested in Workawayers who smoke. We also both have respiratory challenges and cannot accept folks who wear colognes and perfumes. While we have free wifi available, we require you NOT be on your phones while working.

    We need vegetable & flower garden work and help around the house. Some experience with interior house painting would be appreciated and if you like to cook that's great too -- we can take turns or if you really love it you can do it all. One of us is vegan: both pretty much follow a plant based diet.

    Penny has taught English as a second language and speaks Spanish badly; John, -- a singer/songwriter -- has an English major degree (a while back) and is hugely capable of helping with learning English if requested. He also no longer hears well so it means slow, clear speech is a requirement.

    We generally like a workaway duration of a week to 10 days but two weeks is often OK.

    We have kayaks which you may us. We're looking at purchasing SUP's. Unfortunately all the shellfish along our shore were killed in the June heatdome so please ignore the following sentence. We have clams,to dig, and sometimes mussels & oysters on the beach below our home. If you like to fish we have a bit of equipment (we aren't fishers) several types of salmon and rockfish (red snapper) are often caught in the inlet, but you must have a license. We have tennis, pickleball equipment and other sports equipment and are in easy walking distance to a large wilderness park with huge Douglas fir trees and many other species. This area is known for outdoor activities and visits from animals, mainly deer, racoons, black bears, and elk.

    The bus a few blocks from our house connects to many places of interest on the Sunshine Coast. We'll take you to special places not accessible by bus if you like. Some workawayers just like to swim, kayak, hike or relax up on their second floor sundeck overlooking the sea.

    Sechelt is partially located on a First Nations Reservation so there are aboriginal people & places of their culture to visit, a small museum and various cultural events. We have a good library, movie and live theater and some sort of festival or happening almost every weekend. There is also golf, racquet sports, swimming in lakes, swimming in the ocean inlet we live on, many hikes and Georgia Strait, (now renamed the Salish Sea) and a lovely indoor pool in town. There are markets and small malls plus many waterfront walks in both lower towns (Gibson's and Sechelt) & marine attractions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I don't know what a digital nomad is so I couldn't respond to the above question regarding that.

    Travellers can learn english, the history of this area, much about the First Nations people who settled this land centuries ago -- water sports, hiking and a deep connection with the natural world. If the timing works they can also visit the famous Skookumchuck Narrows.

  • Help

    Help

    Outside: Gardening and General Maintenance, which could include moving soil, rocks, pruning trees, weeding, vegetable garden maintenance, help with small construction projects, house & carport painting. A person should be comfortably able to lift a small bag of concrete in and out of a wheelbarrow, for example.

    Inside: Help with painting, cooking, cleanup, vacuuming, general & special housework.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would like to improve my very poor Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a waterfront home and you'll have large, oceanfront upstairs bed sitting room with a balcony overlooking Porpoise Bay. The room has a large sofa, a TV, two comfy beds. Almost exclusive use of a large upstairs bathroom tho' we occasionally use that shower. Workawayers are mostly free to use the rest of the house, the gardens, large deck attached to the house and the decks down by the sea.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a bus stop a few blocks from our home. The bus goes directly to the town of Sechelt, (15 minute walk, 10 minute bus ride) where a transfer can be made to Halfmoon Bay to the north and also to the south of the peninsula with two other interesting small towns, many hikes, beaches and to the passenger/car ferry (about 50 minutes by bus and a 40 minute beautiful ferry ride across the Salish Sea to West Vancouver, then bus into the city or north to the Squamish, Whistler sports areas.

    When we can we will drive you to Sechelt or other places.

    The Sunshine Coast is one of the most beautiful unspoiled areas in the lower mainland of B.C., featuring untold opportunities for hiking, water sports, biking, fishing, cross country skiing. Our area is known world wide as a prime scuba diving venue. Skookumchuck narrows, a world renowned tidal phenomenon is a one hour drive + one hour hike away -- passing beautiful clear lakes along the way.

    The city of Vancouver (40 minutes by bus/car plus 40 minutes by ferry) is a world class city worth going online to check out. The towns of Whistler & Squamish are +/- two hours away offering wonderful skiing, mountaineering, rock climbing and partying -- you do need a bit of money for the skiing and partying!

    One could also just lounge on one of our three decks, one of which down by the ocean and contemplate your navel - a local expression for relaxing that I hope doesn't offend anyone.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We could accept campervans, likely up to 20 feet in length. This would have to be discussed. We could provide it with electricity but probably not water???

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4/5 hours a day, 5 days a week or a flexible schedule that suits both parties

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 847861619292