Help with some home and garden projects with our family in Walhachin, British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 0 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    we are a family with mostly grown kids. Our son who is 16 still lives at home. We live on a small acreage in Walhachin, British Columbia. We believe in growing/making our own food as much as possible and have developed our acreage accordingly with a large garden, orchard and pastures for our chickens and lambs. Our grown kids come home often and we love having BBQs on our deck with friends and families. We are a part of a local soup kitchen where we bring our produce and help out once a week.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    we are a family who has traveled the world but has now decided to settle down and live as much off the land as possible. We love to share our knowledge with others and always love to learn from the people we welcome into our home. We live in the beautiful desert of British Columbia with lots of opportunities of exploring the close by lakes and hiking trails.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    we are looking for individuals who love to work outside helping us in our garden with planting, weeding and harvesting. We grow all our own veggies and lots of fruit grows in our small orchard. We also always have small project on the go such as fence painting, building a deck on our house, repairing equipment.......we as well help out at a local soup kitchen once a week. We have chickens and some sheep which need tending to. Helping with family meals and some baking would also be appreciated.
    at this time we only accept female workawayers.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    clean, private room in the family home with shared bathroom

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have plenty of time to explore the surrounding lakes with swimming or kayaking. Horseback riding is available in the neighborhood. Or just relax in our hammock in the backyard

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    we have a spot for a camper with water and power

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 188486582399