Enjoy Canadian wildlife with our homeschooling family just outside Toronto, Canada

  • Favourited 235 times
  • Last activity: 13 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    We are a homeschooling family of 6 - Mom, Dad, 13 year old, 12 year old and 9 year old twins. We live in a forested area with tons of Canadian wildlife and a private lake. We are located 45 minutes West of Toronto on the edge of Cambridge. Easy access to Toronto by bus or train and lots of amenities close at hand. Public transportation isn't available to our address but the bus terminal is close by so a ride to or from town would not be a problem. We are pretty laid back, environmentally conscious people who take part in many of the cultural events of the region. These include but are not limited to pow wows, festivals, multicultural events and travel. We have memberships to the Royal Ontario Museum and the Toronto Zoo so we love to take day trips to check out the new exhibits or learn about conservation. We like to cook and eat mostly whole foods with the odd junk food treat for good measure. Anyone who comes to live in our home will be treated like one of the family. We would love for our children to grow up learning surrounded by people of various cultures so that they have diverse knowledge of the global community and exposure to other languages.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a beautiful culturally diverse area with a very active art community, amazing studios, exciting night life, organic farms, Provincial parks and Beautiful lakes including the one in our front yard. We are close to some major Canadian cities, and love to travel so the opportunity to see more of Ontario with us is a very real possibility.
    This would also be a great opportunity to learn about caring for young children, assisting their learning and cooking healthy delicious food. The opportunity to learn to sing and or play the piano would also be available to you. Also, you could help with gardening if that is something that interests you, or learn more about forest management.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We would need a responsible, mature, babysitter. You would need to be able keep the house tidy, make meals/ snacks and supervise four children while they do their homeschool work.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We live in a very comfortable large home on twenty four acres of woodland with a private lake, perfect for canoeing, and trails for serene hikes. Our home is very spacious and you would have your own room. Shared living quarters otherwise.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Close to Great Lakes, London, Hamilton, Toronto, Niagara Falls night life, arts and culture, shopping, wine country etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have reliable internet and strong wifi connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We live on 24 acres with plenty of parking

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 844581132561

Feedback (17)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Experience outdoor mountain life on our family acreage in Golden, BC, Canada
Come and help out around the house and enjoy beautiful London Ontario, Canada