Come and join our lively and busy family life and help with our two children in Marlborough, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for before and afterschool care for Tom (14yrs - not much required for him! Sporty and quite independent, home from school 4-5pm) and Martha 8yrs ( loves playing with her dolls/ art/ playing in the garden & with friends) and our two dwarf rabbits (live outside) ! Come and join our lively and busy family life! We enjoy the outdoors and time with friends and family.

    The help we need includes preparation of simple meals, light housework & laundry (we have a cleaner) supervising / helping with homework for Martha. Also getting Martha ready for school and taking her to our next-door village school and collecting from school (bus) and after school clubs. Driver preferred but not essential. So hours of help will usually be 07.30 - 10.00 & 15.00or16.00 - 18.30 - we'll pay extra for evening childcare.

    We live in a rural location and our au pair for the summer managed to get to explore London, Oxford, Bristol and Bath using public transport. We will support some transport costs for you to be able to visit UK visitor attractions and will happily go with you some weekends. Days off in the week can be supported with joint forward planning! Weekend help not really needed but you can join in with us as you like at weekends and we'll include you in activities we do.

    We live in a small and quiet friendly village where you'll be made very welcome. Carolyn (Mum) is part of a church community in our nearest market town (4 miles away / bus route.) Carolyn and Rob (Dad) both work in healthcare and have lived and worked abroad when they were younger, so understand the benefits and challenges of doing this and will support you to feel welcome and settled here with us! We value the cultural exchange opportunity for our children and us!

    Looking for immediate start and 6 months preferred (but not absolutely essential.)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Emerged into family and community life - church / village friends and activities. We live in a lovely part of the country near ancient Avebury (mini Stonehenge) and with good transport links to towns and cities. There could be opportunities to help at Martha's school and with some of her activities out of school if you're interested. We have a wide range of friends and can introduce you to people to support your interests and needs too.
    Our children are learning French (Tom) and Spanish (Martha) at school and we have good French and Spanish friends living locally that you'll meet.

  • Help

    Help

    Before and after school care for Tom (14yrs) and Martha ( 8yrs) as described above
    Workawayer to be able to speak good English

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    a little french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comforatable house with garden - own room downstairs. Shared bathroom.
    Shared food with the family - access to our provisions to be able to cater for yourself too if needed - we will buy food to cater for your needs as required.
    Rob's a vegetarian but Carolyn, Tom and Martha are not.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a open kitchen/ dining/family room looking out onto our garden where we like to eat and spend time in the summer. We grow our own summer vegeatables.
    We will help you fund UK travel to enable you to explore further afield - independent traveling skills will be a help or we will help you develop these! We can put you in touch with a lovely American au-pair we had with us for summer 2019 if that would be helpful.
    There are lost of historical cities you can visit locally - Bath, Salisbury, Bristol ( Rob works here, ) Oxford & London - easy to reach on the train and some very English countryside and villages including the beautiful Cotswolds.
    We really want you to enjoy this experience and will do all we can to help you get the most out of your time here. We will consider you as part of the family and you can join in with us as much as you like - but we also value your need for some time to yourself too. This is something we can work out with you as your get to know us and settle into your new home with us.
    Non-smoker essential. We will expect you to keep our home clean and tidy and to tidy up after yourself - setting an example to the children who assist wth the chores on a daily basis! You will be a role model for the children and they will be interested in learning all about you and your country. Tom is interested in sport, people, coooking, international travel and cultures and philosophy and will enjoy discussing these with you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 842724756852