Friendly and relaxed family offering a welcoming exchange in London, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 463 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ** Availability for late November - late December (and February onwards) **

    We are a busy family living in the London suburbs. We've welcomed 15+ workaway helpers in the past year who have helped us with childcare for our 4 year old and almost-2 year old daughters as well as basic household tasks like cooking, cleaning and laundry.

    We're busy working from home throughout the week, our children need a playmate to keep them busy and having fun! Because we always give our workaway helpers 2 days off and only ask for help 25hrs/week, we typically have 2 or 3 helpers at one time. This also means you can buddy up to take the kids out to the park or forest - we're spoilt with lots of nice nature trails near our house. In your free time you're welcome to take the bikes and explore the area!

    Having the support of workaway-ers to help around the house also allows us to spend more quality time with our children. Good English is important so that you can communicate with our children.

    We have a large house in London zone 6 with a big garden. We have 3 spare rooms available, two are on the top floor with own bathroom. We are 2 minutes walk from the train station and it takes just 20 minutes on the train to London Bridge or London Victoria, so it is a great base for exploring the city.

    We ask for a minimum of 4 weeks, and prefer longer stays, but are open to other lengths for the right people. We have hosted many workawayers since July 2019 and have found it to be a perfect win-win arrangement.

    When messaging us, please include:
    Your travel dates (start date, duration, any flexibility), details of your childcare experience, why you think you are the right person for our family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our place is a brilliant base for exploring London, the train takes just 20 minutes to London bridge (we are in zone 6). We lived in the city centre for 10 years before moving out to zone 6, so we can recommend all sorts of things to do, and help you get good deals on entrance tickets.

    For our favourite workaway helpers we recently took them on a trip to Brighton and had a 'goodbye' English cream tea - we can't always promise to do these extra things but our guests weren't able to explore the area so much during lockdown and we didn't want them to miss out on the full English experience!

    We are a busy family, so we like to have our own relaxation time in the evenings, but you are welcome to join us for meals and trips out in your free time. I'd be happy to teach you to cook and bake the things we eat.

    We have two daughters, Pippa is 4, and Emmie is almost 2. They love new people and always welcome a new playmate.

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly need help to supervise our children (while we are also in the house but sometimes working) - plus an extra helper for mealtimes or bedtime.

    We are also looking for help around our home, mainly cleaning, but also changing beds, laundry, tidying, basic gardening (eg weeding, mowing the lawn), basic maintenance (eg painting). If you like to cook then we like to have help with this too!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a large bedroom with a double bed, we have three spare rooms, so we can accommodate friends each with their own room. Two of the workaway rooms have one bathroom to themselves, and the third room shares the family bathroom. The rooms each have a TV with catch up services or Netflix.

    You will share our kitchen/breakfast room and will join us for family meals (or cook for yourself if we are out). Please note that we do not eat meat, but do eat fish. You are welcome to cook your own meat. We can easily accommodate vegan or vegetarian diets, and other allergies.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in the London suburbs, there are lovely walks nearby, including the London Loop, lots of National Trust properties to explore, and we are an easy drive or train journey from the coast (eg Brighton or Eastbourne). Croydon is a short bus ride away with lots of shops.

    It is very quick and easy to get into central London - it takes just 20 minutes on the train to reach London Bridge or London Victoria.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours split across 5 days a week

Family selfie!
We have lots of local woods and parks to explore, Purley Beeches is 10 mins walk from our house
Pippa loves arts & crafts, she made a model rocket!
Emmie loves the swing in our garden
Emmie tried face painting!
Brighton beach is just 1 hr away, we have previously coordinated a day trip with workaways on their day off
Eating dinner in the garden
Exploring Croham Hurst woods, 10 mins walk from our house
You can almost see our house from the top of Croham Hurst woods, our favourite walk from home.
We have a nice big garden that the kids love to play in
Exploring Kenley Aerodrome, a brilliant place for cycling with the kids, 20 mins from our house
Pippa loves drawing, she's put a lot of rainbows in the window
We've made great friends with our previous workaways
Our workaways have the top floor of our house to themselves, with two bedrooms and a bathroom, and a great view of the garden.
Our workaways have the top floor of our house to themselves, with two bedrooms and a bathroom, and a great view of the garden.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)










Host ref number: 197172333624