Cultural Exchange at Our Up-cycling Community in Duisburg, Germany



Favourited 207 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a Up-cycling community, made up of Kim 31 (educator), Torsten 34 (student), Mara 28 (social worker), Katrin 34 (Teacher), Pieter 3 years old (troublemaker) and Lotta 4 month (sleepyhead). We are living at the border of the Ruhrgebiet in Duisburg. The Rhine, out in the countryside is 1 km away and it's only 300m walk to the city center. We like to live as a community and are looking for others to bring their influence too.

    Culture exchange is one of our reasons for hosting on workaway. We all like to travel, meet new people and get to know new cultures. As a work away you will not be only a helping hand but also the gateway to another country. We are looking forward to hanging out with you, having a beer together in the evenings, going to the local pub, exploring Duisburg and the neighbouring cities together, etc..

    We bought the house 5 years ago with a garden. Our main activities are renovating, creative decoration and interior design and gardening. It is important for us is to integrate our Helpers, like you, into our community. In the 300 m2 house you will have your own room and access to our cozy kitchen, living room and shared bathroom.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Ruhr region is an interesting mix of beautiful wild spaces of forests, rivers and lakes with also metropolitan city culture and industry in Duisburg, and a melting pot of cultures with large Turkish, Italian, Russian and Spanish communities. Its multicultural 5 million inhabitants makes for a very colourful and diverse experience with many unique cultural activities on offer.

    In the region you can discover exotic restaurants, cultural spaces, markets such as the middle age market and many festivals such as Carnival, Park to Shine, CSD and Japanese day.

  • Help


    One of the main goals for us in 2020 is to build a tree house. So, if you're tech savvy, that would be a big plus [but do not worry if you're not that much - and some of us either;)]

    We hope that each helper brings his own taste and talents into the house to make it a colorful place.

    We are also very happy about new recipes from your favorite dishes.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    The house is over one hundred years old and we try to retain much of its old character. You will have your own room, and access to a shared kitchen, bathroom and living room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Duisburg lies in a great position to take excursions to other cities. We are situated just 1 hour from Cologne, and 4 hours bus ride to Paris and Amsterdam. We also have a bicycle you can ride and may be able to take you out for local trips in our car when we have time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Lotta and Piet the smallest and most liveliest of the community
Mara always strikes a sunny calm. everyone feels comfortable
Torsten always has an open ear and is fun for everyone.
Kim great mom and creative do-it-yourself handyman. Unfortunately the pig does not live with us :(
Christmas Time - Special time :)
The kitchen which Kim has build and decorated on her own with a lot of passion and love
Our living room where watching TV can easily turn into a nap

Host ref number: 841143818232