Garden help at my Beautiful Home on the Wild Atlantic Way, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 96 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/11/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I recently moved back to my family house on the beautiful Wild Atlantic Way in West Cork. I've been renovating the house and a small cottage over the last year and need some help - especially with my garden. The location is absolutely incredible with breathtaking views of the ocean and hills. It is quite remote so being able to drive (or perhaps being a pretty keen cyclist) would be essential.
    I'm looking for one or two people to stay for 2-3 weeks at a time to help me with my garden. If you are interested in organic gardening and/or permaculture that would be even better - but not essential. While it is something I would like to be able to dedicate more time to and learn more about in the future I'm not able to manage it alone at the moment. There is about 1 acre of land around the house.
    I would be looking for someone who would be willing to do 4-5 hours 5 days a week in exchange for accommodation and meals. I'm vegan/vegetarian so would provide meals that are also. If you would like to eat meat you can buy and cook it, but it wouldn't be something I am able to include. I teach yoga and I'm happy to also exchange a class for some extra hours.
    There is a lovely village nearby with a small shop and a few pubs which have live music sessions every week. Castletownbere, a bigger town, is also 30 minutes away by car.
    There are beautiful walks to go on and local tourist attractions.
    I have a 14 month old Irish Water Spaniel who is very affectionate, and energetic so you will need to like dogs.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can experience the beauty of this incredible setting on the Wild Atlantic Way and go on stunning walks - or even a swim if you can brave the cold. There are local tourist attractions and a lovely village nearby. I teach yoga so if you wanted to practice yoga/meditation we could do this as part of the exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    4-5 hours 5 days a week especially on helping with gardening. Could be planting, weeding, mowing etc. or if you are more knowledgeable and interested you could come up with some more creative projects. There are also bits around the house and dog minding that could be included too. If you can do painting too there is always some of that!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your accommodation will be in my house in either a single or double room with shared bathroom in my house. The house is quite spacious with a very large living room that has a wood burning stove. Meals will be in my kitchen around the large round table. Meals will be vegan/vegetarian based and generally quite healthy. If you would like to eat meat you would have to purchase and cook it - I don't mind it being eaten in my home, but I can't include it.
    The house is an old miners cottage, the original part of the building from the 1890s with a later extension built on in the same style. It's situated within a small hamlet. My neighbours are very friendly and have kids so there will be other people around. There is a beach a few minutes walk down the road - for walks or brave, cold water swimmers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport is very limited here so being able to drive would be ideal if not essential for visiting local attractions and shops. I can do some lifts but it would need to be scheduled. If you were a very confident cyclist that could be an option - the roads are narrow with many beds and hills.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 838598794778