Help with gardening and general maintenance at my place in the central Ticino mountains, Switzerland



Favourited 177 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    Hello, my name is Renzo. I am a 52 old guy who lives in Southern Switzerland. My house is situated roughly 1000m/sl up in the mountains and about 1 hour walk from nearest village.
    I'm living here since 1995, far from conventional life, while continously trying to be as self sufficient as possible. My house is of a southern Swiss and Italian style with a touch of Balinese, completely built of natural resources that have been sourced from my property. Nearby there is a 130m waterfall amongst spectacular views of the surrounding cliff faces, forests, and mountains. All the needed energy is produced using cogeneration, thermodynamics, and solar panels. The majority of my food is grown here Organically. Each day I like to cook a variety of Italian cuisine, meditate, practice thai chi, train and walk the German shepherd (Ares). Overall, I live a life in close harmony with nature.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn the Italian language and how to cook Italian food, practice thai chi, private yoga lessons with an experienced teacher, learn how to cook in various different cuisines such as Asian, French, and Moroccan tagine
    Learn the required skills to become energy independent and living off alternative energy. Learn how to manage a small animal farm and grow organic food. I am a qualified german shepherd trainer, so for who wish to bring their dogs, they are welcome. Explore the magnificent world of medical and wild plants that grow in the Alps of Ticino, learn how to make essential oil out of them for medical purposes and cosmetics. There are several opportunities for various different building projects involving wood and stone, even painting and creative activities. Learn more about Buddhism, practices and habits. Also feel free to bring your musical 🎸 instruments as it's a beautiful environment for playing music as well.

  • Help


    Depending on the season, need to cut grass and wood, harvesing fruits and wild / medical plants. Would like someone who can cook, clean, maintain the house, while catering for other guests as well, would be much appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, Frech, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation


    Private room or big army tend. Bath and all facilities included, hot water and outdoor shower. Camping ⛺ is also an option, permitting that you will bring your own tent. Free parking and camping facilities are available in the village for those who wish to travel here with their campers. For those that plain to stay longer than one month, there is the option of staying in a basic apartment in town (no kitchen included).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Both female or male workawayers are welcomed (especially couples). Private insurance is needed and a visa for those who are outside the Shenghen agreement. A good reference and a clean criminal history would be desirable. Smoking and drinking are ok here as long as you provide them yourself. Other drugs are not allowed. In order to live here in the mountains you must be physically fit and have a basic knowledge of outdoor survival, as well having adequate foot wear and clothes. As I live in an isolated area, it is important that you arrive on time at the meeting, as it can take me two hours to walk to the train station and the weather can change dramatically in a short time plus the weather must be good in order for me to bring up your gear using my private cable cart or the helicopter . The helicopter flight is fantastic and Jurassic but you must pay the commercial price for the helicopter pilot, co-pilot and kerosene at a price of about 50 swiss franks per person. The flight must be arranged for the morning, as the weather conditions are better. Upon entering the helicopter you will be instructed on satefy measure to. Here the work is quite hard, the mountains spectacular but challenging, so care must be taken. You will be accountable for any accidents. During your stay I will need a document i.e a passport or I.D card to provide to the local authorities, and a deposit of 50 euros for the apartment keys. You will be provided with food for your breakfast and a fire place to cook it, but you must keep the fire small as you will be surrounded by forest and there is a constant fire risk here all year round. In your cabin you will find a fire extinguisher. In the event of an emergency dial 118. Usually, work will start in the morning from 8am to 1.00pm in the afternoon. You also have the option of doing shopping in town or enjoying the outdoor jacuzzi or sauna. From June till September you may swim in the natural swimming pool, go hiking among the beautiful surroundings. Lunch will be prepared at 1.30pm and for dinner we must be flexible with time, so we will plan this upon your arrival so your nutritional needs are met. We are mostly vegetarian and pescatarean so if you go shopping for your own personal needs please inform me one day before, so I can arrange the cable car to bring up your goods, otherwise you must carry them up yourself with a backpack. Dinning together or by yourself, depending on the preference and season, usually from 7pm to 9pm, during this time you are welcome to share your needs and feelings as well as making plans for the next days work and duties. Please do not hesitate to ask me any questions, I am here to make your stay as comfortable as possible. If you don't feel good, that is not a problem, you are welcome to leave at your convenience. The house is totally energetically independent and has been build according to ecosystem sustainable principles, please before recharging electronic devices ask for instructions. You must bring a UE adaptor. Until a new toilet is built, everyone must share the toilet in the house, so it is very important to keep it clean out of curtesy for all. No toilet paper can be flushed down the toilet as we produce own methane gas for cooking. The paper must be thrown in the fire or bin. I will provide laundry for you but no ironing. Garbage: do not burn any plastic, there is a bag for plastic and a bag for paper as well as one for aliminum and glass. Dogs: you are not allowed to feed them especially with cookies or sweets. if you have any problems with dogs please do not come, as I raise dogs here. The gate must be locked 🔒 at all times in order to avoid conflict with other wild or domestic animals, like goats, sheep, deers etc. and of course arrogant humans. Privacy: PLEASE READ THIS VERY CAREFULLY as this is an eremo, it has taken me many years to build it, hence I deserve the right to keep this place private. You are not allowed to take pictures of me, my way of living, the house, moreover post pictures of this place on your social media. Please respect my property and privacy. Here in Switzerland 🇨🇭 we have plenty of places to visit. if you agree with above set of rules you are very welcome. Though any infringement to these rules will put a stop ✋ to are collaboration. I will be very happy to give you a good experience and stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 837532954349