Come and help on a non-profit farm sanctuary in Wallis, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

updated  

Favourited 3076 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    75  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    4610

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    99.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a Farm Sanctuary and we work very hard for our animals and we expect the same from our volonteers.We have sheep, horses, cattle, dogs. The Farm is connected by cable car as there are two barns, one up in the mountain for the sheep and one down the valley for horses and highland cattle.

    The help varies depending on the season ; weather and the helpers capabilities !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    *Experience volonteering outdoors and independently, learning about farming life and their animals.
    There is always plenty to do!

    Also:
    *Swim in the nearby thermal pools

    *Hike on the nearby Alps

    *Skiing / Snoboarding (the farm is right next to the slope).

    *Lots of beautiful hikes to do all year round.

  • Help

    Help

    2022 : *READY TO HOST HELPERS AGAIN - LONGTERM HELPERS PREFERRED !*

    *Starting : around December preferably for 2 - 3 months (or longer), 1 to max 2 motivated and strong helper/s ! Right now; due to the kind of help required we have room for only 2 more male helpers.


    *****
    *Coronavirus: Entering Switzerland: Right now, no restriction
    Please check the the updated corona regulation for entry Switzerland under the website of the Federal Office of Public Health FOPH

    ******
    *We don't plan too far ahead as all depends on how long the current helpers are staying or extending their stay with us but you can still try applying between the openings dates as sometimes we have last minute vacancies.

    ******
    IMPORTANT BEFORE APPLYING HERE:
    *Please read all the informations below and if you think you fit here please contact us!

    *We usually try to respond within 24 hours ( but sometimes we need a couple of days) ; it would be useful if you wouldn`t apply at the same time to many different places, because once we decide to host you here we truly rely on you coming here. Thank you!

    ******
    *This is a Farm Sanctuary and we work very hard for our animals.
    We have many sheep, horses, cattle and dogs. The Farm is connected by cable car as there are two barns, one up in the mountain for the sheep and one down the valley for horses and highland cattle. In summer we move all animals to different mountain pasture.

    We are looking for reasonably strong, reliabel, friendly, honest and hard working volunteers, preferably with driving license, who loves animals, working outdoors and that feels comfortable being in solitude. It is important that helpers are healthy minded and able to work both independently and under instruction. Alcool only in moderation !

    If you are looking for a place with an international touch (I speak german, english and italian), and you are not allergic to dogs, hay or horses in an amazing landscape you will be welcomed!
    Also: No smoking inside the barns & accomodation !

    ! If you want to volunteer here, you should be physically and mentally strong as there are plenty of hikes, so be ready to do lots of walking. Moreover in winter time we get a lot of snow !

    Due to the fact, that the farm is pretty large and in addiction to farming I also teach sport-swimming at the local school, I prefer long term helper/s that have the confidence to work independently and sometimes alone.

    I will only consider requests with a picture of yourself and from helpers truly interested working in a farming environment. If you are not used to it, sometimes the help can be tough but you will always get enough time off to relax or explore the area.

    ******
    *There can be periods of intense help depending on the time of year but can be compensated with more free time.

    Help is mostly needed during April until November but there are tasks to be done all year round, so during the winter, (December until March) I can also host someone (max two helpers).

    The help will involve April-August: From mid April onwards we are going to spend a lot of time preparing the farm and the fields to put the animals outdoors for the summer.

    The Summer months are the busiest time of the year, we work hard, we make hay on steep alpine meadows and bring the hay into the stable. Helpers should be in good physical condition and not afraid of hard work. We also water and sprinkler the fields and regularly check on the animals on the high mountain pasture.

    September-March: making and repairing fences, getting the farm ready for the winter, regularly check on the animals, moving the animals, watering the fields, feeding the animals, cleaning out manure and general tasks around the farm.

    ******
    *Taking pleasure in working physically with your body and enjoying solitude would be necessary to have a good time here. I would particularly welcome people with some tractor-driving skills or willing to learn it.

    You will need to bring: for your own safety; good hiking shoes, no sneakers, clothes for helping outside in winter / summer. Personal health insurance.

    *****
    You will be helping in a beautiful location and depending on the season around 5 hours a day, sometimes less, sometimes more; these hours can be reasonably flexible, allowing you time to explore our area and beautiful mountain and in winter, on your days off you can go skiing / snowboarding or just relax. In exchange I offer a lovely accomodation with cooking facilities and pocket money for your grocery. Thank you for considering coming here.

    If you seek a simple life in a beautiful landscape I would love to hear from you

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    *Just to give you an idea about the accommodation, it is comfortable cosy flat with two separate bedrooms, (one has a queen bed and in the other room has single beds), a kitchen, living room and bathroom and a has everything you need for cooking etc. The wifi is relatively limited in the flat itself however there is a restaurant about 50m away that has pretty good wifi. The flat is located in the heart of the village, , and is close to the farm and the local shops (grocery etc). Due to the living arrangements it is not possible to live with me so you will have the flat for yourself/with other volonteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Visiting the famous thermal water and hot pools in Leukerbad. Horses trekkingstours in nearby village Erschmatt, hiking on our beautiful surrondings. hiking on Niwen Alp. Skiing / snowboarding in Jeizinen and on other ski resorts such like Zermatt , Leukerbad.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)










































Host ref number: 336148924252