Help me in maintaining and building the property in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired farmer. Senior. projects- maintaining the property with more emphasis on beautifying and improvements. fencing to keep deer and bears from their destructive habits. Adding to the home-site by building new 'additions' - eg- greenhouse, root cellar. There is an opportunity for someone who would like to settle here and maybe provide an income for him or herself (or both) from the land- gardening, especially. I live on 13 acres in the West Kootenays. mountains. valley. fresh air. quiet. house, barn, outbuildings. It is best if you have an RV or tiny home to use initially as your residence. I no longer manage an income from the property; therefore I cannot offer room and board. Only accommodation and some produce. I prefer that you have your own private 'housing'. Once a 'working relationship' is established and there is some assurance of commitment I will see if we can build a little home for you.
    So this situation is not convenient for a traveler. Is better for someone who wants to put down roots. settle in. make a home. create an income. what I ask for from you is some fencing, help with firewood, pruning some fruit trees, cleaning chimneys, garden and lawn. Reminding you that I am still quite able to do outside work. If you have quality carpenter skills I will create some projects and compensate you well. The same applies for anyone with chainsaw experience. Otherwise, if it is labour work you will be required to do 5 -6 hours of work daily. Monday to Friday. or equivalent. I want someone who can work alone. self-initiative. I can get you started and be some help.

    If you are interested. we can talk. via phone. I prefer a Canadian citizen. And also, obviously want someone with some good work ethics and related experience. The objective, at this time, will be to help me and once you are established you will have time to create an income on my property or off the home-site. You may already be somewhat self-employed. This could work well for you.

    Is a non-smoking environment. and prefer little or no use of alcohol.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can share of my past experiences as a farmer and livestock holder. food preparation and marketeer. You can experience a new way of lifestyle(perhaps)..living in the Kootenays. in the mountains. self-sustenance on an acreage.

  • Help

    Help

    Ultimately, I would like to find someone who would like to live here, full time. I need help with the subjects I have checked off. gardening, yard maintenance. some fencing, mostly electric.
    weed whacking, lawn mowing, pruning trees, handling firewood, cleaning chimneys, harvesting food and processing or storage. And helping to 'eliminate' unnecessary 'collectibles' from 44 years of ownership here. I am still capable of doing most of the above myself; but not as motivated and work a little slower. take more breaks! NOTE: workaway says that my reply rate is low. I NEED to tell you that I am not always actively involved with the computer. am electrically sensitive. so some workaway inquiries may be missed. I am sorry for this.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have an older mobile home; The 'Imperial' . I prefer that you make a home for yourself in the Imperial. But for now, until all renos are complete and clutter is removed- I have no accommodation. It has a propane cook stove and is off the grid. It will not be difficult to run some power and water to the mobile home. But first, it needs to be gutted of all the clutter and accumulated goods. Yard sales and your help!


    *****If I do compromise some and accept a short term helper. I will provide meals and groceries. and will manage to offer a room. When I say short term- 1 month minimum, please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the mountains. at the north end of the Kootenay Lake. In the West kootenays. 65 miles from Nelson and 90-140 miles from Revelstoke. my home is in a valley. quite beautiful. panoramic. biking, hiking, fishing, hunting. water-rafting, kayaking. The local Community Hall is great. large- with commercial kitchen, bowling alley, fitness centre, notebook computers, wifi, lovely shower stalls and newer washer and dryer. There is a local bus that goes to Nelson from here one/week. from Kaslo- twice.
    I prefer a non smoker, please with little consumption of alcohol. no addictive behavior. I like to talk,some. but have my quiet side or need for quiet, alone time, also. moderation. I welcome 'thinkers'. also self-motivated. initiating action sometimes without me being at your side. However, I am still capable of working outside and like to do so and am prepared to work with you and show you what has to be done and how to do it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    a cat or dog. the dog must have a fenced in area so that my cat is safe. If a person makes there home here they can have sheep or a horse. if they do the work (fencing)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    depending on agreement- possibly 3 hours daily


Host ref number: 837145735183