Care for the land deep in the rural culture of southwest Ontario on a quiet cattle farm

Country

Canada

Favourited 129 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    854

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Glencoe, ON: My husband and I farm 270 acres near Glencoe, Ontario which is half way between Toronto and Windsor/Detroit in the Thames River watershed. To get to our place, book a ticket with VIA trains to Glencoe. We'll pick you up. We live ten minutes away from the Glencoe train station. Please look at our calendar to see if your travel plans coincide with our months of need.

    We have 80 acres of forest that need attention this spring. Mary wants help planting trees, removing invasive plants and encouraging diversity in the natural areas of our farm. We are looking for people to join us in the spring of 2020.

    We need lots of help: cooking, cutting grass, cleaning, carpentry, fencing, gardening, and special projects. Mary would love a workawayer who knows how to cook and run a kitchen but somehow she always ends up cooking! Some workawayers have helped Mary with her social media and Wordpress websites.

    Every farm is looking for skilled people that don't need supervision but we understand that young people are coming to get that experience. We are always impressed how hard our guests work and how engaged they are. Every day is different - no two days will be the same.

    Our guests live at a house which is a 20 minute walk from the main farmstead through the woods. The house is 6 kilometres from the village of Glencoe and a one hour drive from the city of London. There is no vehicle for you to borrow. This is a place for you to explore the two hundred acres of nature at your back door. This is a place to cool out, practice yoga, meditate or do gardening in the evening. We have bicycles for you to explore the backroads of Southwest Middlesex.

    We are involved in the community and often there are local projects to help with too. Check the calendar and send us a message.

    Mary has a Teaching English as a Foreign Language diploma and can offer a total English immersion experience with coaching in speaking, reading, writing, pronunciation, grammar, listening. English learners, if motivated, share their exercises with Mary in the evening so she can help them with their formal program. More typically, she corrects pronunciation and explains the dreaded phrasal verbs! Mary and Ross include their worker guests in many family social activities so be prepared to meet many people and speak, speak, speak.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is an English immersion environment. Mary can help you with your book studies but mainly this is a chance to speak and converse in a pure English environment. Mary also does pronunciation coaching using some of the great Youtube videos that help with the science of pronunciation.

    Southwestern Ontario is a very special part of Canada. We are halfway between Toronto and Detroit City. The geography is flat and the main activity is conventional cropping of corn and soya beans. There is LOTS of rural culture here! This is Canada! Lots of music, church suppers, social activities, and small town celebrations.

  • Help

    Help

    2020: Planting trees. Removing invasive weeds. Watering trees. Farm work. Installations.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a little French, English, and German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The House has five bedrooms. Our son, Cam, is the host but he is rarely there. There is a full kitchen and sometimes we all eat at the house and sometimes we eat at the other farm stead. It can be somewhat solitary if you are the only guest. But we have bicycles. And it is just a 20 minute walk through the woods to the main farmstead.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will take you to lots of social activities but you are surrounded by a beautiful property. This is a perfect place for people who live busy urban lives to take a break and enjoy the silence, the stars, the quiet evenings, the forest, the creek, and the Thames River.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week












Host ref number: 835691296422