Childcare help around our family house with our lovely sociable little guy in New South Wales, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 323 times
  • Last activity: 20 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    So, warts and all, we've got a messy house with two messy boys in it, and a messy garden. All of these things need a load of TLC that we just haven't had time to do, and our two awesome boys of course take preference. #1 is 6 years old and relentlessly ADHD-style active and smart, #2 is three and is the loveliest little dude you'll ever meet, is now learning his first words and sentences and loves to smile and giggle.

    We live in the Blue Mountains which is West of Sydney, taking just over an hour on the train from Springwood. We can always drive you to Springwood station, or to Penrith station if there's any issues with the trains. This is a bit out of the way of Sydney in a peaceful, chilled (alternatively, quiet boring depending on perspective :) ) idyllic area with loads of beautiful hikes and bush walks nearby.

    We've had a few challenging Workawayers recently, and as a result would like to keep visits to a week or if possible. Please be nice, calm and understand we are doing our bestest with our two wonderful boys.


  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I speak multiple languages, he’s just learning to talk and I’m trying to give him a multilingual environment. We love welcoming guests to our home and I’m quite often working at home too.

    There’s lots of walks nearby, including Birdwood Gully that’s 2k of trees, streams and lizards.

    And Netflix, AppleTV+, Disney+ and Binge. Depending on what you’re into!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Childcare would be appreciated, they are lovely children. They are also 6 and 3 but can’t do much about that.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I used to teach English in China and Japan, and love new languages.

  • Accommodation


    A lovely house in Springwood, Blue Mountains with beautiful bush views. Springwood station is 15-20 minutes walk away, I work from home and I can drive you there if you need. We have a spare bedroom, and a sofa bed in the front room if you want friends to visit.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's lots of walks around the Blue Mountains, and the station is just a walk away or one of us will be happy to drive you. It's one straight line straight into Sydney Central station in one direction, and Leura in the other.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fibre wifi, 1000/200 speed.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 833261635689

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.3)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (5.0)

Experience the rural lifestyle in Livingstone, Northern Territory, Australia
Enjoy the countryside and help us care for injured retired racehorses in Mount Samson, Australia