updated  

Come and share our tranquil garden setting in beautiful southern Tasmania, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 447 times
  • Last activity: 06/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Our picturesque family farm is in the Derwent Valley only 35 minutes from Hobart. Here is where we produce an exciting range of hand crafted, small batch drinks and concentrates plus our award winning gourmet condiments.

    Myself (Anne) and my husband (Robert) live on the farm and manage things together. We would love help with:
    a) our large garden - picking, planting, weeding, pruning, mowing, bottling fruit and preserving in a variety of ways and
    b) small 'building' jobs. And
    c) online tasks for those with the pre-requisite experience.

    We are keen to meet new people and share our knowledge, accumulated over 40 yrs of mixed farming, gardening and running a family business; as well as ideas and tips on travel within Tasmania.

    We are on the beautiful Derwent River, so in spring and summer you can enjoy swimming, canoeing or lying on the banks of the river, or wandering through our 380ha of bush, along creek beds and ridges across a wide range of landscapes. On these walks you can see kangaroos, possums, perhaps echidnas, quolls and the beautifully coloured rosella parrots, souring eagles, kookaburras, fairy wrens and robins (to name a few).

    We are looking for enthusiastic individuals, groups or couples who are open to new challenges. Those who have experience building, landscaping and gardening would be a huge bonus - but it is not a necessity. We plan to build a fire-pit or two for sharing food around, build a little verandah onto our beautiful 'chicken coop' accommodation unit, build a frame to support more wisteria as an arched walk and other electrical, carpentry and stonemasonry tasks, including re-building our courtyard into a 'zen' feel. And if you are up for it, turning our barn loft into another accommodation facility with its expansive views across our beautiful valley - would be amazing. It would be a wonderful if you had the skills to help accelerate our projects. If not, there is always plenty to do and there is so much variety here, I am sure we can find something that will interest you.

    Having your own transport will give you more freedom, but we are always happy to run you into the local town 5 minutes away and a bicycle is provided as well. New Norfolk is a cute little town with lots to see, fabulously interesting coffee shops, all with a different 'flavour' in their presentation, other gourmet food outlets, a market and lots and lots of unique antique options where you can get lost for hours (NN is the 'antique capital of Tasmania').

    Minimum stays of one to two weeks are ideal (in order to get to know you and also so you have a full and real experience). There are a number of choices of accommodation - with separate new shower and toilet. Our latest creation is "the Coop" - our cute little converted chook shed, cosy and warm (double glazed and insulated) and set within the garden. There is a caravan next to the house, or down by the river. Or, if you prefer, you might enjoy privacy further away from the house in a converted insulated high cube shipping container, complete with own kitchenette and separate new shower and toilet facilities. You can still choose to join us to share an evening meal after the day to day activities around the home.

    Most of all, we are flexible. If you would like to use us as a base to explore southern Tasmania from, I am sure we can arrange something that works for all. Many stayers have come back for a second visit and some even a third visit!

    If you like to learn, if you help with enthusiasm to the best of your ability, we will always welcome you here. Hopefully, you will leave us with memories of great homegrown food and interesting experiences. And an insight into what it is to run a diverse farm and value added food production; having set your mark on some little project that will remain an ongoing memory of you for us, and for you of our little piece of paradise.

    ADVICE - Tasmania's climate especially outside of summer is variable, so come prepared. Bring sunblock, long sleeved shirts and sunglasses to keep out our intense sun; bring layers of clothing (lots of op shops in New Norfolk if need be), good (waterproof) boots and a jacket for the off seasons.

    Arriving mornings works best for us. I would suggest getting to Hobart one day, having a bit of a look around and then the following day catching the 9am bus to New Norfolk - we will collect you from bus stop in Pioneer Ave. We ask that you remind us the day before you arrive and give us a call when you are about to catch the bus. We are 5+/- mins away from New Norfolk.

    It takes about half an hour from airport to hobart via bus. Buses to New Norfolk are hourly till 9am - then after that - you have to go to Glenorchy to catch a bus, which is a bit more awkward for you. So arriving in am is easiest.

    Good idea to come equipped with snacks and some things to nibble on if we are busy. We provide a hearty evening meal - which you can help prepare, picking fruit and veg from the garden to create our nightly healthy meal and once a week we bake - so you can learn to make cakes and bread if you enjoy this.

    Looking forward to an enjoyable interaction.

    Warmest Regards
    Anne and Robert

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lots to learn - and you can specialise in what takes your fancy and the season - from tending the veggie garden, the orchard, learning to propagate plants, harvesting berries, apples, pears, peaches for winter storage etc. Building and landscaping skills will be cherished and we will certainly provide a healthy home cooked meal at nights - including Annie's famous desserts. Goats, cattle and sandstone make up this mixed farm. So lots to see and enjoy and always plenty to do.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The help is varied depending on the time of year and your skill set. The help will be mostly around the home vegetable patch and our spot by the river.

    Helping with landscaping, planting hedgerows & windbreaks, mulching, pruning, stone walling will always be appreciated.
    Builders or handy men will be cherished(!), as we wish to enhance every vista and create photo opportunities wherever you look. Our projects are many and varied - we would love to build a shelter by the river with BBQ facilites and a deck - so, to improve the amenity of our 'sanctuary' - a place where we swim, canoe or just sit under our willow tree to read a book when the days chores are done.

    There are also tasks to do around the farmhouse such as gardening, mowing lawns, house maintenance and renovation, helping cook healthy meals at night, feeding garden refuse to our livestock - wherever you feel you can most be of help. At the moment we have two orphan kids who need feeding twice a day.

    We are currently planting a few more mixed fruit trees, setting up winter protection for our lemon trees, adding watering systems and raising our vegetable patches so we can fit more compost in.

    There is always the daily vegetables and fruit to be picked and/or preserved.

    Or you may like to help out at Salamanca Market on a Saturday or at our mid-winter Festival.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation unit - there are 3 to choose from - the main one is in a simple but cosy warm cabin with very clean separate toilet and shower. Then there is a cute little caravan - a blast from the past - but the bed here is mostly suited to smaller people, so if there are two of you and you are both tall, this won't work.
    We also have a newly refurbed chook shed, called "The Coop" - we are really proud of this as it has been completed with mostly recycled materials plus cosy warm cladding and insulation. Set in the middle of the fruit and veggie garden.
    Camping - You can also camp or bring your own caravan if you prefer and sit by a camp fire (except in fire danger periods).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearby is Mt Field National Park (lots of walks and snow in the winter), or visit Mona Museum, Agrarian Kitchen, the many op shops and antique shops only minutes away are just full of hidden treasures. Swim in the river, paddle, walk thru the bush, see native animals, cockatoos, kookaburras, owls, platypus, (sometimes) and plenty of bird species, kangaroo and possums.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have one cabin that is suitable with wifi access, or you can connect via own phone wifi closer to the house and garden. We could even set you up down on the river if you were going to stay a length of time - adjacent to the rapids - where the light play of sun on the water and the tinkling sound of the rapids will unfortunately be such a distraction that you may never want to stop and work! You can swim in the river and then walk up the hill to the home to share a meal with us or to gather produce from our huge herb, fruit and veggie garden.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We would love to have you come and visit and have plenty of site opportunities - some with power - others more remote. All beautiful - we will do all we can to help make your stay as memorable as possible.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 831188648696

Feedback (27)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.8)
































Living simply in an eco-village on the Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia