PDXFox

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Top Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

    Our next destination:

    Norway
    View all
  • Description

    We spent February and March of 2019 being helpers in Australia. We are looking to travel again but have decided to delay this until 2022.
    During the past several years we have hosted many helpers via HelpX and Workaway. And during the summer of 2016, spring of 2018 and winter of 2019 we were helpers ourselves. Our experiences have all been enjoyable and some have even introduced us to life-long friends. We hope to continue bringing our skills in home restoration, general maintenance, gardening, retail sales, communications, and hosting to others who are seeking help.
    We are independent travelers and very clean, respectful guests. We don't have to be asked to help out with those day to day tasks everyone has -cooking, dish washing (and we actually do get the dishes clean), garbage removal, picking up around the house, putting tools away, etc. We are pretty laid back though, and will follow your cues. We hope to enjoy time with our host, sharing meals and getting to know one another over a cup of tea.
    And we want to help you get your projects done. We are independent workers with a great deal of experience around homes and small businesses. We have restored two homes, an 1884 farm house and a 1923 bungalow. We are now working on restoring an 1890 Victorian cottage. Our Helpx and Workaway host profiles (PDXFox in each case) will detail a bit about these projects. We maintain a lovely garden at home and Kim and our two sons own a retail liquor store.
    In our free time we like to walk around an area, talk to whomever might be around, generally take in the sights, sounds and people around us. We aren't big on a lot of the glitzy touristy things. But show us a little farmers market, a fair or an out-of-the-way place to hike, and you've got what we like to do.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Performing arts
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice
    Culture
    History

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    Having restored and maintained 2 homes (working on a third), raised two children to adulthood, and had successful careers in retail and electric energy, we bring a number of skills to any project you might have. Among those skills are:

    general carpentry and woodworking
    power and hand tool use
    electrical and plumbing work
    window glazing
    wood finishing (stain, varnish, paint, etc)
    wall papering
    gardening (flower and vegetable)
    communications (verbal and writing, but English only)
    Microsoft Office products
    retail business management
    house cleaning and organization

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    We are happy to help others learn English.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    69 & 70

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    We had a great time being helpers during 2016, 2018 and 2019 and are sold as hosts and helpers. You can get a general sense of us by looking at our Workaway reviews as hosts: https://www.workaway.info/486427337617-en.html
    We work well as a team but are also very good working separately. If one of us doesn't know how to do something, we can figure it out together!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      none

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback