Help tame my wild and beautiful land in the West of Clare, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single parent to a 15 yr old and a 7yr old. We have two friendly dogs, one medium sized and the other a three legged small one. Both children are home educated. We moved back to Ireland from England at the end of last summer having been away for six years so the land is now quite over grown. My job is to tame it as soon as possible. It is a lovely spot - an old cottage that we did up and extended. It sits on 5 acres, two acres on one side which is a field, half planted with shrubs and trees. The other side is a young broadleaf woodland I planted about 15 years ago. We can’t actually see any of our neighbours but there are plenty of them. We are four miles from the village which has two shops, two pubs, a school and a church. Further a field there are two towns, one 7 miles away and the other 10 miles. Only 8 miles away is a beautiful sandy beach popular with surfers and families alike.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If English is not your first language then learning English would be the most obvious benefit. Beyond that then gardening skills, cooking (I never follow recipes!) the beautiful surroundings and fresh air are all bonuses of being here. We are a friendly family looking forward to meeting new people and sharing our lovely home, experiences and stories. Public transport is limited but I am happy to take you wherever you would like to go and we can show you the local sights of which there are many, including quiet country walks where you don’t even need a car as it is all on the doorstep.

  • Help

    Help

    My aim is to tame the land so that would include digging out brambles, digging in the field to create vegetable patches, chopping up wood to fill my log store and general upkeep of the property. Non smokers only please.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small caravan as well as a tent which could be put close by to use as a sitting room. The caravan has a double bed which can be converted into a table and seating for during the day. There is additional seating too if you prefer to leave the bed down. There is a small kitchen fed by gas as well as storage cupboards for clothes etc.

    Although there is a small kitchen in the caravan for making snacks and hot drinks I envisage meals being eaten together in the house. Either the diet the family eats or I am happy to provide other food, specifically for you. We are vegetarian and organic, eating a main meal at lunch time and a snack in the evening.

    The caravan is not big enough to contain a toilet but there is a compost toilet close by.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are loads of tourist attractions nearby including sandy beaches, Bunratty castle, the cliffs of Moher and the Burren. Public transport is limited but I am happy to drive you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The compost toilet.
A lounge that you are welcome to use
My kitchen, where the magic happens 😂🤣
The front of the house
My house from my field
My little wood
The drive in
The back of the house
Lahinch beach, only 8 miles away
Host ref number: 828837862273