Help us at our 'time out space' Retreat in beautiful Taranaki, New Zealand

  • New Zealand
  • Favourited 546 times
  • Last activity: 27/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family living about 15 minutes from New Plymouth. We host a Retreat which is a time out space for families and individuals who are going through a challenging time, to stay for free. We are looking for help with welcoming our guests and keeping the lodge & grounds tidy, or helping with the animals. There are always projects that need completing if you are keen to leave your mark. If you have any gifts you would like to share with our guests (eg. art, music etc) then even better! You will have flexible hours. We aim for there always to be someone on site so hours can vary and primarily we are looking for an extra pair of hands to be there.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in beautiful Taranaki, New Zealand, living on site with a young family, meeting a wide variety of people and helping provide a vital Space to Breathe for those going through tough times. We are a 15 minute drive to the beach and city of New Plymouth and 45mins from the Mountain - so lots to do in your free time.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a very welcoming and friendly person or couple to help with the general runnings of the Retreat. This will include things like making up a room for guest to stay in, feeding the animals, being around to mingle with guests-especially over evening Kai, letting the Retreat family know when supplies are low, help with dinner prep or maybe even cook a cultural meal etc. Also there is always work to do on the grounds, sometimes simple building projects for those that are keen. We have chickens, cats and a big fluffy dog on site so an animal lover would be ideal! You need to be easy going and able to get on well with a variety of different people, be open minded and non-judgemental. 4/5 hours a day with 2 days off a week is what you can expect with days arranged between you and the Retreat family to suit.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Newly built wooden cabin with the basics (Bed, chair, drawers etc). There are modern facilities such as bathroom/Kitchen/Laundry in the lodge house which is nearby. It could suit a single person or a couple.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Basic food will be provided and usually there will be a joint evening meal together. We are happy to work out hours and days to suit between us. There is no public transport from the Retreat however, we can arrange to pick you up and drop you off from the airport of course but if you don't have your own transport you may sometimes not be able to get very far. We do have bicycles you can use and sometimes there are people coming and going from site that may be able to take you with them.You will need to be able to work somewhat on your own initiative and after you are familiar with the runnings of the place be left on site sometimes on your own. We always love it if Workaways would like to cook and treat us to their own speciality dish :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Small, well behaved dogs can be considered.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 826564323858

Feedback (50)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)


























































Experience small farm life with our family in Waikuku, New Zealand
Hidden valley restoration and homestead project, Northland, New Zealand