Experience living in the beautiful hills of County Durham, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 46 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello. My name is Dan and me and my partner, Jane, live in a 14th century defensive outpost in, picturesque, County Durham. Surrounded by hills and farmland, we are 5 miles from the nearest town which, for us, is the big appeal of living where we do. We very much enjoy sharing our space with animals and we spend a lot of time with our cats, chickens, sheep, goats and horses. Evenings can be relaxing, by the river, next to our fire pit or walking through the fields and woodlands.

    The animals we have are not a business. We have cats in our home. 13 chickens which is a bit of a hobby plus it gives us eggs for ourselves.

    We are considering building a shepards hut out of locally supplied wood for other guests to stay in. We have a lovely spot by the river where that would sit quite nicely. It's not something we are desperate to start but we would like to do that at some point

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a workawayer we can offer you the experience of living in the beautiful hills of County Durham. We are a very relaxed couple who will give you the space and time to explore or just relax. You will have your own bedroom / living room and bathroom plus we'll feed you! Come share our space with us.

  • Help

    Help

    I would like someone to help around the place. We are thinking of building a shepards hut so anyone with experience of making things with wood are welcome. We also need help with chopping wood, general maintenance, collect the eggs, cooking, cleaning, help with the animals and general keeping the place tidy. We love experiencing new cuisines so anyone who likes cooking who can bring a different cuisine is most welcome

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Hi there. I speak English and very basic Spanish. I'm very keen to expand my Spanish if possible

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a very large room to yourself (very large!... it's practically a studio apartment! with your own bathroom) it's the top floor of our property with beautiful exposed beams. All food and accommodation is free although you may want to bring your own snacks as we don't really buy these in.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you wish to explore the area further Raby Castle is near by with a tour of the grounds and café.
    Barnard castle is a short drive away with the worlds best ice cream and small local shops.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have Internet and a quiet space you can use. The Internet isn't super fast but 3Mbps is enough for us to work from home when we need to

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large parking area, with electric, should anyone want to bring their own van

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 826484921686