Come and help us on 270 acres of beautiful hobby farmland only 20 minutes to Noosa beach, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We cover over 270 acres, located on Cootharaba Road QLD, just a 30 min drive from Sunshine Coast. Beautiful beaches are just a short drive away. We raise a variety of animals including cattle, alpaca, sheep, horse, pig and poultry. We also grow fruit trees and vegetables using organic methods and have the intention to move more toward permaculture. The farm is strictly a hobbyist farm. Any produce grown on site is consumed by us. Rather we raise them to teach everyone about animal care. We are very hospitable and welcome volunteers from all over the world to enjoy a great time living and working on the farm. Many of our regular volunteers speak fluent Mandarin so if you are learning, or wanting to learn, a new language why not learn the most spoken language in the world!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a predominantly Chinese farm, we cook traditional Chinese food and love to welcome everyone to try! The long-term volunteers control the volunteering programme, so you will always have English speakers with you. But as many of us speak Mandarin you could also pick up a new language whilst you're here, perfect to add to your CV! We also enjoy taking our volunteers sight-seeing on days off from work, so you can still explore Australia whilst living remotely. We are strictly a non-smoking farm, so if you want to kick the habit then please join us and we can help you quit :)

  • Help

    Help

    As we are a large hobbyist farm, our day-to-day tasks vary quite a bit. There will always be a need for animal care and garden maintenance but we also would benefit from help improving our website and social media, and building new areas on the farm. We are still in the very early stages so we welcome people with a background of knowledge to help with projects and make us more functional! Our volunteers from the USA set us up a compost pile and our Japanese and Chinese volunteers created our chicken run to free range our beautiful hens. So please come and give us your ideas for new projects and we will help you see them through.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Mandarin

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We currently have a modern 8-room farm house which can accommodate 16 volunteers minimum, we are also due to build a much larger accommodation complex to cater for our ever growing number of volunteers. We provide as much food as possible, 3 meals a day, catering for different dietary restrictions. Volunteers are also more than welcome to cook for themselves, we will be happy to take you shopping for ingredients.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We work 5 days a week usually until around 5pm. So evenings and weekends can be used for recreation. We tend to plan excursions to beautiful, fun locations. Recommendations for day trips are always welcomed and can be organised via the volunteers. We have sports equipment such as a ping pong table, badminton rackets, basketballs and so on. We also have a piano which is for volunteers to use in their spare time. Our current volunteers enjoy organising movie nights or setting up bonfires to toast marshmallows! You'll be spoilt for choice.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 823415327287