Improve your language and help with my first eco-building-project in Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone,
    my name is Maya and i´m 25 years old. I moved to Portugal about 6 months ago to start my first own eco-building-project.
    Right now i am building and renovating my first clay house with the help of my dad who also lives in Portugal.
    We specify in clay and sustainable materials for building homes.
    You will be living at my Fathers place with us, we have about 15 individual houses/bungalows. We will be driving to my construction site everyday (about 20min drive).
    In our home we try to be as self sustained as possible with our own garden where you can pick fresh lettuce, tomatoes, beans, melons and more.
    We speak fluent portuguese, german and english.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can improve your portuguese, german and english skills.
    As we live on the country side of Portugal this is the perfect place to wind down, relax and also meet some locals. Furthermore you will learn a lot about eco construction and clay building so you could one day build your own house :)
    Also my dad is caribbean so you will experience this side of cultural exchange as well, especially in the food.

  • Help

    Help

    Always depending on the situation but mostly construction help (of course with natural materials as much as possible) and gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, german, portuguese, un petit peu french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom with private bathroom.

    We have an open kitchen where you cook 24H a day.
    There is is one freshly cooked meal a day (usually dinner).
    For Breakfast and Lunch we provide Bread, Eggs, Pasta, Rice and more so you can prepare your own meal if you wish so.
    And we also have a lot of vegetables and fruits from our garden (in the right seasons) such as tomatoes, cucumbers, salad, avocados, plums, oranges and more which you are welcome to use as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a good place to connect with the nature, relax and find calmness in yourself. In your free time you can also go to lake or the beach. The place is in a rural area, for any further activities you would need a car/motorcicle but obviously we can give you a ride if it´s convenient. There´s a bus station in `Odemira`, `Milfontes`, `Cercal`, and a train station in `Funcheira` and `Amoreiras-Gare`.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

pool and houses
garden
pool
Project

Host ref number: 813755299833