1 / 4

Come and help us with gardening and eco project on the Silver coast, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 45 times
  • Last activity: 23 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Changing our environment in central Portugal into a more sustainable micro-world. We are a gay couple doing vegetable and floristic gardening on a ecological way. The gardening we do for our fun (physically and mentally) and for our own consumption. Two years ago we bought the predominantly pear fruit trees to save them - and us - from chemicals. In the surrounding area, agriculture, consisting of eucalyptus, pear trees and vineyards, functions almost exclusively conventionally (intensive, chemical). We are a small island in between and would like to convert this island in an organic way towards permaculture.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Near to the Coast, 45min. to Lisbon as well as ecological aspects (solar power, heating, isolation, growing plants). Our intention is get to know each other in a period of at least 2 weeks.

  • Help


    We would apreciate your skills/interests in gardening, forestry tasks, maintenance or cooking. The period of 2 weeks is ment to reach a good personal relationsship.

    Apart from the general and permanent tasks of weeding, mowing and maintaining the trees we would currently like to improve the walls and a structure/roof of our shelter. We shall try to make a fence with plants.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Conversation is central for understanding. Therefore I would be glad to teach german and english language. To learn portuguese language from a workaway member would be a plus or to learn portuguese together.

  • Accommodation


    At your personal disposal are heated bedroom/bath. Cooking and TV is meant to be central. We usually cook vegetarian styles.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Touristic spots in the area are Buddha Eden, Peniche/Berlengas, Nazaré, Caldas da Rainha, Obidos, Alcobaça, Lourinhã with Dino-Parc...The distance to the village and train station is 4km.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Our cat is single. Therefore she is the boss in and around the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    about 4 hours

Host ref number: 618262659674

Feedback (1)



Land stewards wanted in Norte Alentejo, Portugal
Help out in a self-sufficient quinta in the making in Central Portugal