Immediate start. Single workawayer required for a friendly, sociable household in Brittany, France.

Country

France

updated   Last minute

Favourited 236 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    51  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    351

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    We are Philippa & Allan. We are a semi-retired British couple in our mid fifties who moved to France 9 years ago. We live in central Brittany, in France, near to the beautiful Medieval town of Josselin.

    Our workawayhelp is varied and not hard. We need a workawayer to help us with gardening, general tidying, cleaning, cooking, painting furniture, shopping, household tasks, animal care and general maintenance. Plenty of opportunities to get out and about and socialise too.

    We have hosted workawayers for the past 7 years. It's been a great experience and we love having fun people to stay. We've met some fab people from all over the globe and have kept in touch with several and have even met up again with them when we've been on our own travels to Australia and New Zealand, oh...and we've also been workawayers ourselves.

    We are both friendly, sociable, fun-loving people and really enjoy the life here, although we are both avid travellers and 'home exchangers' too. Philippa loves acting and runs a drama group and enjoys doing arty-crafty stuff. She is learning Spanish at the moment. Allan played rugby and canoed competitively for many years and loves watching all kinds of sport.

    We are in a village location, which has some basic amenities including a bakery, bar etc. However, there is no public transport in the village itself, so workawayers who have their own transport is a big bonus.

    We will have our friendly dog and cuddly cat at home, so looking for animal lovers and cannot accept people with pet allergies. Sorry, but we cannot cater for strict vegetarians/vegans, as we ourselves are meat/fish eaters.

    The area itself is lovely. Beautiful villages and towns to explore, great woodland walks and countryside. One of our favourite spots is the Lac au Duc, less than 15 minutes away where there's a range of watersports available. There's also a beautiful 9 hole golf course nearby and we have clubs if you wish to play, and we also have a couple of bikes available.

    Come and have some fun in beautiful central Brittany :-))

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Brittany is a great location with lots of heritage and lovely countryside. Lots to do. We can take you out and about or there are cheap buses for day trips to Vannes etc. We often have social events at home or meet with friends locally, enjoy going to music nights, theatre or quiz nights and on a Sunday we enjoy browsing the local 'brocante' events where you never know what treasures you are going to find!

  • Help

    Help

    We like practically minded workawayers who don't mind getting 'stuck in', can use their own initiative and have a 'Can Do' attitude in helping unsupervised. Enthusiasm more important than experience, as long as you are eager to learn! We always appreciate help with general chores too as we like to see you as members of our family/household so 'mucking in' with the usual things that go along with that. :-) Prefer aged 22+

    Tasks will be varied, but may include help in the house, cleaning, animal care, gardening, weeding, painting furniture, general maintenance and repairs etc. We have a 'chill-out room' at the top of the house- well it will be a 'chill out room' once we have cleared out all the junk and refurnished it! (Another job where we need help!) There's always lots to sort and various tasks to do, so looking for a practically minded people to help us. We have a huge ‘brocante’ in our village at the beginning of September where we will have a stall so sorting out our ‘junk’ to sell is also on the agenda!

    We speak English at home and whilst we are happy to host workawayers whose native language is not English and who wish to have the opportunity to practice their English language skills, you must have a good level of English to begin with..

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable private room in our spacious farmhouse with pretty much sole use of the bathroom.
    We have all the usual stuff like UK TV and Wifi. We have a large garden and live in a village location. All meals will be provided during your stay.
    We look forward to hearing from you!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are ideally looking for mature, responsible workawayers aged 22+ who have previous work experience. Sorry we can't host families or people travelling with their own pets.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours per day, 5 days a week (flexible)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)





























Host ref number: 812185957478