1 / 3

Small hobby farm in the Comox Valley, BC, Canada

  • Favourited 26 times
  • Last activity: 13 Mar 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Family of four with two cats and one puppy that lives on acreage in the Comox Valley. We have a small hobby farm currently with chickens and eventually more animals will join. We have a beautiful view of the Beaufort Mountain range and have a wonderful winery just down the road (closed for winter). Projects to include preparing our lower level to be finished as it is partly an unfinished, landscaping and garden immediately around the residence. Possible child and/or puppy care. One of us works from home and the other works out of town and is often gone for over a week. While my spouse is away, I would like help with more day-to-day tasks so that I can enjoy some of the hard work but enjoy working alongside people and connecting too.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a rural part of the Comox Valley, but are close to town. We are an active family that tries to do regular outdoor activities. We would invite you to go skiing, walking, hiking, attend any puppy training classes (we are currently training our 6-month-old puppy as a service dog).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    While we are looking for various types of help, we are a busy family and our needs are often changing. From some organization help to landscaping and gardening help, we celebrate your strengths. Specific tasks may include rearranging rooms, moving furniture, deep cleaning, caring for children through crafts or games, creating a garden or helping build some steps outdoors.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested in learning every aspect of who you are, including any languages you speak and sharing mine.

  • Accommodation


    We would provide you with your own living space for sleeping and retreating to when you need some quiet time. It is a separate suite at the lower level of our residence equipped with a queen sized bed. It has a bathroom with a tub/shower combo and a full sized kitchen which would be shared use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in one of the most beautiful areas of the Comox Valley where in your spare time you can head up to Mt. Washington for skiing, the beach for walking or swimming, or the lake for watersports. We have many public trails for walking and hiking as well. Comox Valley is also a friendly biking community. There is a public transit system that accesses the area too. We have a lovely quaint downtown with all sorts of boutique shops, wonderful community centered events as well.

    During the week the children are in school and I often am working from home in between puppy walks and training. We do have a small hobby farm as well so there are chores related to the farm which would be an optional activity. Weekends are mostly spent catching up on what did not get done during the week with a focus on outdoor activities.

    We are an inclusive family that respects space when it is needed and appreciate the same for each indvidual. Open communication is also appreciated to ensure that any adjustments to the integration run smooth.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I too work from home and have upgraded our internet to reflect that. We have great Wi-Fi access throughout the property and thus making it easy to work outside in the fresh air and sunshine or inside.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a parking space available.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 987745643448

Feedback (1)