Creative native English/ Spanish speakers wanted in Wrocław



Favourited 104 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description



    We are a family of 4 (+) - Monika, Pawel, Kuba (12), Kacper (8) and the plus is a yellow lab named Luna. :) Our focus is on what matters most to us - our family. We live just outside of Wrocław in a village, but still on a public transportation line (about 15/20 minutes to the city center from here).

    Travel, lifelong learning and adventure are a big part of our lives!

    Kuba loves football (soccer) and he trains several times per week - he even travels internationally. :)

    Kacper is still exploring possibilities - right now he enjoys capoeira and cooking! :)

    Pawel and Monika developing theres skills in IT :)

    Luna loves to walk, run, eat, sleep and be scratched. :)

    After living in the UK for 5 years and hosting workawayers, our English is at a higher level and the boys have a very high level making communication easy with us. We are not needing an English "teacher." Kuba's next language goal is learning Spanish.

    We believe that all members of our family deserve respect and we encourage the boys to express their needs and pursue their desires. Independence is important to us. Family conflicts are handled with conversation and negotiation.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living with a typical modern Polish family can be a huge cultural shift for most. We are multigenerational, have spent time in other countries and are taking advantage of the freedoms we have. Our family loves to laugh, eat, talk and share time with others.

  • Help


    We are looking for creative and joyful Workawayers (person/couple/ friends), who would encourage our boys to continue their lifelong learning adventure.

    Our dream Workawayer would be someone who is native English speaking but bi-lingual with Spanish.

    If you love children and have an adventurous spirit, we would love to meet you!

    The basic expectations are to inspire our children, explore life together, help them develop their skills and to expose them to new ways of thinking and learning. If you approach all of that with joy, you will be a success in our eyes! As for Spanish, it is a high priority but if you do not speak Spanish, please feel free to check with us about availability.

    Homeschooling, Life Education, Unschooling and Independent Learning are all ways to develop your academic understanding and life skills. There are some Polish education obligations which must be met, even for homeschoolers, but we handle those in the morning and spend the rest of the day on personal pursuits and alternative learning. That's where you are needed. Feel free to get creative, teach us your skills, use your gifts and talents to bring the adventure of learning into our home!

    Spanish learning is something we would like shared in a more organic method. Please try to avoid using flash cards and table work. Try immersing Kuba (and us) by only speaking Spanish, come up with games or playtime, sing songs or explore the culture and cuisine of Spanish speaking countries. Anything that is natural but also engaging would be super.

    Beyond the basics, we hope that you would help to keep the home tidy - occasional sweeping, vacuuming, emptying the dishwasher, taking Luna for a walk or just noticing what needs to be done and pitching in would be super. If you would like to cook something or bake something - we won't object :) :) :).

    As for homeschooling, it may not be a concept that is familiar to you...before you apply, feel free to search about it or the other types of alternative education on the internet. In fact, that's homeschooling 101 - if you don't know, do the research and find out!

    Above all - join in our joy. :)

    LONG TERM OPPORTUNITY AVAILABLE if you are legally able (visa or EU with native English plus Spanish) please contact us if you are interested in staying for up to one year!

    For our U.S. friends - it is possible under a bi-lateral agreement to stay in Poland for 6 months (3 months that includes Schengen Zone area travel plus 3 additional months with only Poland and Non-Schengen Zone area travel). Research this for more details : Visa Policy of the Schengen Area - Citizens of Annex II countries and click on Rules for Annex II nationals or search Travel in the Schengen Zone and look in the highlighted box titled Additional Visa Exemptions. Maybe you will consider spending 6 months with us using our home as your base. See homeschoolers do have great information! :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We offer meals plus accommodation in a spacious separate room with access to Wi-Fi and a lot of fresh air.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We do not expect you to babysit during the evenings or on weekends. If you choose to spend your free time here at the house, we will do our best to respect your privacy.

    But, if you would like to join us for conversation in the evening or on one of our trips - join in or tell us.

    If we are going in to Wrocław by car, just jump in and use that time to explore. The bus also goes to the center every 2 hours (costs about 1 USD) or you can catch a ride from one of the other people in the village ;). It's about 15 minutes by bus from here to the city center.

    The city is relatively safe whether it's night or day and there are a lot of interesting things to see and do. Try finding all the gnomes, watch the lamps get lit on Cathedral Island, visit the period pubs around town for a piwo and much, much more. It's an internationally minded city so there are many people from around the world here.

    If you want to get out of Wrocław for the weekend or explore Central/Eastern Europe we recommend taking PolskiBus (tickets can be as low as 2 USD REALLY!). Our central railway station (trains to Czech Republic for 7 USD) and airport (RyanAir flights as low as 7 USD) connects you to all of Europe.

    For more information about Wrocław, one of the prettiest Polish towns, do some easy research ;) maybe even search under Breslau ;). You should know that Wrocław was the European Capital of Culture for 2016.

    We collect fridge magnet and will be thankful if you will bring us one from your country :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum

Iceskating with Leandro & Andreia
Painting in garden with Miguel from Spain
Trip to Wrocław with Tobias from German
Trip to mountains with Brenton from Australia
Chemistry with Marc from Spain
Winter in Poland
on a bike through the village
Our dog Luna
Playing chess with Mijail from Italy (and Peru :) )
That is our family
Mike and Kiri from America
your room :)
Our American and Canadian au pairs :) Love you girls :)
Jorge with boys sleeping in our tree house - our Spanish au pair

Host ref number: 811893947323