English speaking friend needed for our children and family near Lublin, Poland

Country

Poland

updated  

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!
    We are a happy family of almost 5! And have just moved to our new and big house in the countryside close to Lublin - 30 minutes by car (East Poland). Our children are enjoyable and witty small creatures, starting with a 3-year-old daughter, 15-month son and a new baby girl due on the middle of October. We are waiting impatiently!:-)
    My husband is a self tought musician, playing dozens of ethnical instruments including al oud (lute), several drums, Arabic instruments and many others. He is really into Biblical instruments, and apparently the only person in Poland to have both the great knowledge and practical skills (playing all those instruments) combined. He is also an unique Master of Ceremonies during wedding receptions, playing good music and using black old-school Vinyls:-) He also owns several bee hives and collects some honey:-)
    .
    When it comes to me - I graduated from Applied Linguistics (English and German languages) a couple years ago, worked with children, youth and adults teaching them both languages, and then raised our children. We practice at home intended bilingualism, which means that I speak to my children in English in a natural way from their birth- therefore English is present in our house everyday! We communicate, play, laugh, cook, clean and have fun in English - and you are welcomed to join us! Apart from that I like sewing, crocheting, scrapbooking, reading books and listening to good music:-)
    I was an au-pair in London ten years ago, so I know how it is to live with another family, and therefore I try to be really understanding. I also have a profile called Magdulla on couchsurfing.org, which I used a lot before the era of children. We love travelling as a family and just enjoy the slow life together.
    .
    Our house is located among trees near Kozlowiecki Park, which is the biggest green area close to Lublin. We have access to a small river, forest and picturesque meadow where thw Sun sets down. It is a new and big house with plenty of space, more that 200 square metres. You could sleep on the first floor, which is still missing the floor (soon to be done) and the bathroom, but there is another one on the ground floor. Otherwise, the space is ready to be used and we plan to finish all the works within this year:-)
    We livevery close to the forest, and there is a city bus going to Lublin couple of times during the day, just 5 minutes by car from our home, and another one going once a day to Lubartow (the closest city). You can easily travel everywhere in Poland and Europe from Lublin.
    We are a Catholic family, living our lives according to the Bible and trying to be good people for each other and our guests:-)
    .
    We would appreciate someone who accept and share our values, a helpful hand for our almost 3 kids, and maybe who can help us with cooking, cleaning, organising the day, playing with children, speaking English with them and taking them for a walk when I will be breastfeeding:-)
    We are happy to share meals with you, showing you around, helping get the spirit of Polish culture, cuisine and people.
    You are really welcomed in our house, hopefully both of us will experience the real adventure of our lives!!!:-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a typical Polish family, with Polish cuisine and culture, and language, but on thw othwr hand we have travelled a lot around the world and love other cultures and music. You will definktely benefit from our chats, culture and experience we have collected during our lifetimes. We plan to make a trip at least once a week to show our children interesting places, people and events, and you can join:-) Lublin is a cultural city with lots of universities where you can indulge yourself with different kinds of cultural activities. If you are a natire or music lover, our house will be the perfect place for you as we have lots of that here:-)
    And as I speak to my children only English, I can offer some free everyday English classes and practice, with lots of English books and games:-) German is also possible:-)
    Feel invited into our family! ( I forgot to write our age - I am 29 and my hubby is 33)

  • Help

    Help

    You can share your skills and experience with us and our children, as we could do too. Speaking English with children, reading tem some books, playing with them indoors and outdoors, sometimes cooking, cleaning, changing nappies (if needed!:-), from time to time babysitting while we are thefe or not, maybe some general maintanance around the house. But also just being with us and sharing our lives with each other:-)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can choose one of 4 empty rooms on the first floor, we can arrange a bed and other needed and useful pieces of furniture within couple of days. The bathroom and the kitchen are downstairs.
    Yoy are welcomed to join the meals, and fo open the fridge as you wish. Shopping will be done rather once a week on the local market and local supermarkeg, also including your preferences.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can enjoy your time at home, outside, or far away as you wish. There are some places nearby which are nice to see e.g. a lake or Zamoyski Museum with a beautiful garden. Lubartow and Lublin are the nearest cities, whre u can enjoy some academic life with cinemas, cafes, restaurants, fitness clubs, shops etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 612159475561