Come and help at our permaculture homestead nestled in a peaceful valley on the Central Coast. Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    148

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a multicultural family (two parents and one child) who left the city six years ago to live a more natural life in the country, yet only one hour from Sydney!

    Our other family members include Bruce, our farm dog, Nestor, our guinea pig, and Lollypop, our pigmy bearded dragon!

    We teach permaculture and we host Kids holiday camp programmes as well as camping and house guests.
    We tend large food producing gardens and raise many forms of farm animals.
    We bush regen a lot and 'rewild' as often as possible!

    We are down to earth people, serious and fun at the same time! and we aim at living a simpler life.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak, English, French, Spanish, Italian, and some Japanese and Chinese. We travelled a lot before we sent roots down on our farm and we enjoy multicultural exchange.
    We teach permaculture and skills for simple living.

  • Help

    Help

    We are backed by the State Forest, the Jilliby State Conservation Area, and the Watagans National Park. Creek frontage, wet sclerophyll and rainforest, abundant wildlife and very quiet (apart from the Bell Birds!). Set on a 100 acre block (20 cleared acres) the farm is in its fifth year of establishment. It has been set up as a productive homestead and beyond-organic permaculture farm, currently in Biodynamic conversion.

    Everything to date has been established – veggie patch, orchard, fences, off-creek water set up, and needs to be maintained, improved or troubleshooted!

    Other activities include slashing, moving, pruning, bush regeneration, weeds management, bush track management, compost making, animal care, building and repairs, and general farm chores, etc.

    You need to feel comfortable working on your own three days a week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, Italian, Japanese (little!), Chinese (vague memory!)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Several options to choose from:
    - Our 1960's caravan needs to be refurbished... Once it is, this could be your room! Access bathroom, toilet, kitchen and living areas in our own house.
    - Private bedroom with private bathroom in our home
    - Camp outside if that's what you want to do!! (we can lend you a tent) :)

    Strictly non smokers.
    Ethical omnivores. Sorry, we cannot cater for Vegetarians/Vegans
    Initial one week stay. We prefer long-staying guests.
    Eat with us at the family table.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - Hiking trails (straight from the farm)
    - Kayaking (10 mins)
    - Shops (10 mins)
    - Beaches (25 mins)
    - Adventure Park, Reptile Park, Wildlife Park, movies, indoor climbing (20-40 mins)
    - Sydney (1.5 hrs by train)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 811255131528