Gardening, Food processing -Central location in historic Nelson, BC, Canada

  • Favourited 24 times
  • Last activity: 22 Jul 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    I would love help from a mature and conscious women who enjoys gardening, painting, cleaning, animal care, food processing and children.

    I am a single mom with two children living in a very central location in Nelson, BC. My daughter is 14 and my son is 12. I have the children part time. I will need help with my son while school is out, taking him on bike rides, to the lake, to the skate park etc.

    We are committed to enjoying a healthy lifestyle by being active in nature and eating organic, non-GMO, local food. We have a large, organic permaculture inspired food garden. We grow mountain spinach, potatoes, beets, carrots, squash, tomatoes and lettuce. We have many berry bushes (blueberries, red and black currants, saskatoon berries, goose berries) and fruit trees (peach, apricot, plum, apple and pear). Our location is fantastic as we have mini farm only 4 blocks from downtown historic Nelson and 4 blocks from a network of gorgeous forest trails.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have been actively gardening for 15 years and I have completed a six week Permaculture course. We have been invited to participate in Garden tours because our food garden is so big, which is unusual in the city. I am happy to share my knowledge about gardening and food processing. Nelson is a historic and cultural rich city surrounded by mountains, forests and Kootenay Lake. Nature is our playground!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We would love your help maintaining our garden, playing with our active children and general house work. Garden work would involve seeding, weeding, mulching and food harvesting. We also need help with food processing such as slicing fruit for the dehydrator, freezing fruit and/or canning. The general house work may involve sweeping, dishes, dusting, vacuuming, and/or cleaning the windows.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will be staying in a very private, quaint and tranquil eight foot by eight foot cabin on stilts with a peak-boo-view of Kootenay lake.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nelson has a plethora of cultural activities to choose from during your time off, such as: bi-weekly markets, night festivals, music shows, art galleries, art walk, movies in the park, coffee shops, many different restaurants, and cafes. You can enjoy exploring the surrounding nature such as: hiking and biking trails, swimming in Kootenay lake, relaxing at the beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 544731922843

Feedback (3)



Help us with our vacation rental business in Radium Hot Springs, Canada
Help around the house in the small town of Berwick, Canada