Come and enjoy historical places, amazing food and lots of wineries in Assay, France

Country

France

Favourited 113 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    689

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a gay couple living in the Loire Valley in France, Jeff is from Chicago and Oscar is from Argentina. We've lived in London from 2008 to 2017 and we've adopted three English little boys. We purchased this old Chateau near Chinon in France and moved here in the summer of 2017. The house suffered an electrical fire in 2004 and its been vacant every since. We are in the process of renovating it, the other outbuildings and the grounds for our family home, where the boys can grow up with lots of fresh air in a great friendly community in the French Countryside.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Loire Valley is an incredible place to visit. Many of the historic French Chateaux are here to visit, medieval towns for exploring along with amazing food, lots of wineries for tasting and stunning scenery. We are multi-lingual here in our house, English being our primary language with Spanish and all of us learning French (the boys are obviously better than Oscar and I).

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for couples who can help with many projects around the property depending on your skills. We have some small building projects, lots of gardening projects, trees to take down and cut into firewood, stone walls to repairs and maybe some help inside the house and looking after the boys.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a gorgeous loft apartment available for two workawayers. There is a full kitchen, bathroom, living and dining room that is exclusively for your use. We do have washing and drying machine available for your use as well in the common laundry room.

    As far as food goes for our Workaways, you are more than welcome to join us for some meals. We will also do some shopping for you so you can stock up your own cupboard and fridge. In your kitchen you have a fully functioning fridge, cooker and oven, we can provide a microwave as well if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Explore the amazing Loire Valley! See the tourist site here with videos.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Oscar and Jeff in front of the Chateau just after we purchased it in 2017.
Our family home, once the renovations are all complete.
The boys admiring the chateau from across the road.
Oscar being silly!
Jeff so happy after we completed the purchase in 2017.
Oscar clipping some sunflowers for the table.
The boys playing in the fountain in Richelieu.
Blake the guard dog :-)
The Chateau in 2004 without a roof after the fire and restoration has begun.
This is where you will be staying. We call it Le Barn, as it was an old barn that we turned into a beautiful loft apartment for our guests.
Your living room with the dining room behind it.
Your fully equipped and stocked kitchen.
Your bedroom up in the old hay loft.
Your bathroom, including a walk in shower.

Host ref number: 938126423965