Help at an art residency near Angouleme, France

Country

France

Favourited 429 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for people willing to help us both at the art residency and at home.

    1-For the residency, we are looking for people that could help promote the experience (photo, social media, webdesign) ; people that are happy cooking, driving and welcoming artists.

    2- We are also looking for people wanting to help fixing up our charming 19th century house.
    We are looking for people ready to help with painting windows or walls, insulating.
    No experience is required, but we also welcome people with experience in house restoration.

    We are a family of four, with two teenagers (14 and 11 years old).
    We speak French and English fluently.
    We are a laid back family, we love new comers. The size of the house enables every one to have his or her quiet corner as much as lots of additional space to be together.
    We care about good food and learning from each other more than about TV and computer games.
    The parents work as art curator/anthropologist and professional photographer.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Guests have all their week-ends free and can discover the lovely river, the hilly countryside and cities around. Time is flexible we can also work hard for 3 days and enjoy the rest of the week free.
    Guests could learn from the art residence I am setting up and from David who is an experienced photographer (his big studio is at the end of the garden!)
    We speak English and French at home, so language could also be acquired this way!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The guest can help in multiple ways, both at the residency and at house works.
    The garden also always requires maintenance (flowers and edibles).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Maltese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in an old and big house with high ceilings, French windows and lots of daylight. The volunteer will have his/her private bedroom. The house has a nice big garden. It is located in a small but lively town in the south west of France. There are trains and buses going to the city of Angouleme and then to Paris or Bordeaux.
    In town, the food market is amazing and the bakeries provide fresh baguette and croissants anytime you wish!

    We have WiFi in all rooms.
    We accept smokers. (smoking outside)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the Cognac region, which is a well known touristic destination. You will be in the heart of the French countryside a nice place to go for walks and cycling, but also for canoeing. Check up the music, art and the famous cartoonists festivals of Angoulême. The ocean is an hour away and you can easily reach it by train from our village.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 525366644636