Young family looking for some babysitting help in Vancouver, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/01/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family of 3, soon to be 4. It's Mark, my wife Kym (pregnant with due date in first week of March), and our son Theodore who's 1 year old. Theodore is a very active and energetic little man but can be a little shy at first. It might take a few days for him to warm up to you but when he does, he's a sweetie.

    I (Mark) work in the biotech industry as a Distribution Planner during the day and Founder of a tech startup on the side. I'm passionate about helping young families here in Metro Vancouver so if you are interested in knowing more about these side of things, I'm always up for chatting!

    Kym is from Australia, and as expected is a a lover of good coffee and food. She's a bonafide foodie so she can suggest a lot of places where to eat out here in Vancouver! She's also always up to hangout and chat since she's a stay at home mum. If you are staying with us, you are going to be treated as our own family.

    We are here on Work Away because we need someone's help during Kym's recovery time from her c-section as we both don't have family that can help us here in Vancouver. We think this is a good way to help someone while they help us at the same time. We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Kym is from Australia and Mark is a naturalized Canadian that grew up in Saudi Arabia. There are lots we can all learn from each other. We can also help introduce the work away to Metro Vancouver to get connected or explore this side of the world in full. They also have the opportunity to learn/practice their English if that is something they need help with.

  • Help

    Help

    We need someone to help in the morning/early afternoon with our 1 year old boy (Theodore). Kym will be recovering from a c-section in the first week of March until mid-April. She won't be able to lift or carry him for at least 6 weeks. Mark will only be able to take 2 weeks off work so he won't be able to help as much. This is where you can help us with in watching over him and doing the breakfast and lunch routines for Theodore. Kym will be busy with our newborn baby for the most part. Standard house cleaning would be appreciated as well like cleaning up after Theodore and washing the dishes from the breakfast and lunch times. Treat our home as you would yours and we will treat you like our own family.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Tagalog: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 3 bedroom and 2 full bathroom house. You will have your own room and bathroom so you can have your own privacy and feel more at home. We live in Vancouver, right by the 29th Avenue Skytrain station. We are also on a main bus route, you will be able to go anywhere on transit right from our doorstep so it's easy for you to get around even late at night. Main meals will be provided, please let us know if you have any allergies or preferences when you get in touch! Kym is allergic (anaphylactic) to anything seafood so we cannot have any type of seafood in the house or in our meals. We go grocery shopping every two weeks so if there's anything you need/want we can include you in our shopping.

    We are also a drugs and smoke free household. We also don't have any pets other than our fish called Fabio!

    Mi casa es tu casa!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mark is an avid outdoor enthusiast and an entrepreneur. He has done numerous hikes all over Metro Vancouver all the way out to Whistler and beyond. If that's your jam feel free to ask him on what to do outdoors! He may even join you here and there. If you are more interested in the careers/business side of Metro Vancouver feel free to ask him for resources or help as well.

    If you have any questions always feel free to ask us!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 797534318213