Join our family and help create fun activities in Cracow, Poland

Country

Poland

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a family of 5 and we live in Cracow, Poland. We live in a cozy flat just 20 minutes by bus from the old town. While staying with us you will have your private bedroom and a small bathroom. You are invited to eat with us or to use the kitchen if you would like to prepare your food. We (parents) speak English and Italian. You should be prepared for an intensive family life:) I mean the kids are good but can be noisy. The girl (9) and the boy (6) go to a Montessori school 7:30-15:00 and the toddler (girl of two) stays at home with her mum. They say that we are a peaceful christian family:) We love travels, mountain hikes and alternative education. Sebastian (husband) works as a journalist an Anna (wife) is on her long parental leave, performing different tasks remotely (mainly interior design, Italian classes and translations). During weekends we are often out in the mountains and you are invited to join to breathe some country air, but you can also stay. Especially during July-August we are not in Cracow.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cracow is our city, it is a beautiful place, just go and see it! We cannot offer you money but you will for sure get food (usually more Italian than Polish though), accommodation and a friendly atmosphere. We cultivate our polish traditions so if you happen to be here around major festivities you can see and experience something unique. In the evenings we often pray at home, we would be happy if you join us:) If we are out you can of course also still use our apartment or travel with us.

  • Help

    Help

    We need your help in two areas: mainly teaching our older children English by making different projects with them (about two hours in the afternoon or in the evening, once they are back from school) and also some help with entertaining the youngest one (for about two-three hours in the mornings). The timing is extremely flexible: we can arrange it according to your needs (ex. if you need a free morning or evening we just change the schedule). We can also prepare strict schedules for every week so that you know what to expect - as you wish. We believe in learning any language "in action". Our kids currently understand some English but do not speak yet. What you could do with them is up to you: art projects, cooking, board games, singing (anything but a traditional grammar class). As for the youngest one, she will be happy with any entertainment than you can offer her once her mum tries to do some remote work.

    We would like you to feel as our guest but also as a family member. You are not expected to participate in the household activities, maybe only to keep your place tidy and not to add too much to the general chaos that is unavoidable in such a big company. If you like cooking or singing or playing an instrument we would be happy if you share your interests with us. We would also like to know as much as possible about your country and traditions.

    It is recommended that you are a native speaker or fluent in English. You should also be quite talkative:)
    We try to avoid screen exposure as much as possible so our kids do not watch too much television. and do not play computer games. So this is not the type of entertainment that we are searching for them.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small bedroom and bathroom in an apartment shared with our family. We can host only one person due to limited space.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 794529919979