Experience life on a honey farm and help with cutting the trees and some painting in Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    347

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a honey farm with a little guest house by the river. We speak both English and French as well as some Spanish. We love animals, horses, cats, chickens, dog and gardening. This guest house is a perfect artist's retreat as it has a little studio behind the house for doing painting, pottery, etc

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to get out on weekends with our guests to enjoy the parks, but where we live is already ideal for walks, picnics, canoe trips. We love going to Manitoba's Cultural events such as the Austin Thresherman's Reunion and rodeo and Fiddle Fests. We enjoy a relaxed pace in the country and having farm pets. Summers are short and because of that I like to make the most of the season to produce food that I can keep for the winter.

  • Help

    Help

    I would really like some help with cutting the trees and branches around the house that have died, and I would like to do some painting this year, there are some garden sheds I would like to decorate! There's a lot of work in the garden too! We are very busy during the honey harvest from the end of July to the beginning of September.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The guest house is completely furnished, two bedrooms, a full kitchen, deck with a beautiful view of the river, surrounded by nice shady trees. The guest house sleeps as many as 8 people if they are in one family. When guests are doing their own cooking I happily share food from our garden, but when guests are working really hard all day, I offer to cook for them at the same time as I cook for my family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have already hosted people from France and the Philippines. We really enjoy the exchange and learning from our guests. I like to learn more about what interests our guests so that I can help them reach their goals. Not everything can be done during a short stay, but I try to make the most of every day. I think communication is so important, otherwise I wouldn't know what our guests are wishing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 779263555342