Help in a mature rainforest in the Pacific Northwest an hour from Portland, OR, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 1304 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    391

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our ideal is to be a non-profit forest conservation space that has frequent visitors who come to remember that there is a quieter existence outside the bustle of "normal" life. We've got nearly 200 hundred acres of mature forest and wildlife habitat here in the Pacific Northwest. We have four rustic sleeper cabins, a main cabin, and a community lodge with bathrooms and a kitchen. A creek and river meet at one part of the property and we have a yoga deck overlooking the river along with a swimming beach. We're currently developing a conservation easement on 150 acres of the land, which will conserve the forest in its natural state in perpetuity. Our 50 acres outside the conservation easement are being developed into a holistic retreat space where we host paid gatherings and events, including the occasional wedding. The property is owned by a large family, with Ian the caretaker living here full-time, and Ian’s dad Bill visiting every so often to help with building projects.
    We are also lucky to have Lisa the professional chef and yogi living here until mid-December. We have a fair amount of visitors, friends, and helpers passing through our communal space, so please be aware of that. It is a bit remote but not too far out there. The closest town, Molalla, is a 15 minute drive, and we are conveniently 50 minutes from Portland. We work hard here, but make time for fun and relaxation too, which may include documentary screening, sound healing, bonfires, chilling in the hot tub, and of course exploring the forest :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The setting within our forest is a nature lover's paradise. The flora and old growth ecosystem offer a unique up-close look at the beauty of the Pacific Northwest. Anyone from another country/state should get to experience this completely unique and beautiful area at least once in their lives.
    Our zone is ecologically diverse and centrally located within the state of Oregon and the Cascades specifically. We can do language exchange as well. Dive into the forest and soak up every plant and fiber, learn from the organic architecture and the organized chaos of the natural world. Learn English and American cooking! Learn the basic skills of wood chopping and fire starting. After two or three days, the sound of the creek in the background becomes normal and the peacefulness of the setting really starts to unwind the stresses of modern living.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We currently need carpenters and maintenance workers!!! We have many projects underway including but not limited to: finishing an outdoor cedar sauna, finishing a composting toilet, building a chicken coop, building a wood shed, dreams of building a couple tree houses with a connecting bridge over the creek, building shelves, benches, and tables, etc! Lots of things around here could use improvement and general handyperson would be greatly valued. You'd have lots of independence so we are seeking workers who are proficient in these skills.

    We also need people to help with invasive species removal! The work is not glamorous but it is a good way to spend time in solitude in the forest, for at least a few hours a day.

    We're also trail building, gardening, and there is always firewood to be chopped and stacked.

    We're open to folks who have social media/marketing expertise to help boost our retreat space, weddings, special events, etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your lodgings will consist of a simple wooden sleeper cabin close to a creek under the canopy of and old growth forest primarily made up of Douglas Fir, Western Cedar and Western Bigleaf Maple. Thick moss blankets many of the lower trees and you will hear owls in the evening. You will have a queen mattress and simple storage space. 2 of the sleeper cabins have electricity, two are without. The kitchen and bathroom, living room, woodshop and fire pit are in and around the lodge (a hundred feet away), which is an amazing pressure ring timbered structure built with wood cut and milled on the property. We have two bathrooms with huge showers and a full kitchen with two refrigerators, oven, toaster and dish washer. Our wood shop and tool space is attached to the lodge where we have a nice selection of Douglas Fir and cedar for projects.

    Depending on the time of year, there could possibly be other workers/tenants/or family sharing the lodge space. It's also possible that you would have the place practically to yourself other than our caretaker across the street who will direct the work week and assist in grocery shopping when necessary. Probably best suited to couples, traveling friends, or independent adventurers who don't mind the possibility of a little solitude now and then.
    You will be responsible for your own food and have access to a full kitchen to cook and clean etc. We can provide the staples (rice, beans, pasta and sauce, potatoes, fruits and veg, some special requests). We eat simply and healthy out here. We are not vegetarians but we try to balance affordability with organic/sustainable when possible.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Miles of hikes just upriver. Mt Hood and all it has to offer under 2 hrs. Silver Falls is just over an hour (ten waterfall hike!!) Portland OR is 50 min away. Bagby, a DIY Hot Spring is 1:45 away. The coast is a few hours drive. The amazing arid Eastern Oregon is just over the cascades and offers a completely different climate and cultural experience.
    We have salmon fishing in the river along with some trout and pike minnow (license required).
    There is the potential to do group trips for hiking etc. especially if you do not have a car. We are 15 min from the nearest town and grocery store. Right now the vibe here is pretty mellow and it is good for people who are comfortable with groups but also doing their own thing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    we have a fiber optic mesh wifi network that covers most of the structures on the land.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have four RV hookup sites.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two







Host ref number: 768138477887