Family eco-village on a remote, rural off-grid island. BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 128 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/06/2021

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have been building a sustainable, off-the-grid cob village for the past 15 years. My daughter, her 3 little dogs and cat, and our free-range, organic chickens all seem to thrive here. I kinda like it, too.

    If you like to learn new ways and don't mind getting a little dirty (we have cool and hot showers to clean up afterwards), you'll enjoy our home and gardens.

    Our garden provides much of our food year-round and our neighbours add to that. The 17 laying hens are happy and we're entertained everyday by our 4 ducks!

    We're focusing on bringing in our year's supply of fossil-fuel-free firewood. If you're up to splitting, it's not only great exercise, it's very meditative.

    We get around by bike and have two extra bikes for guests; you'd be welcome to use one.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We try to live as sustainably as we can and rarely use fossil fuels in any way. We love our lives and can show you that life without stuff can be very enjoyable and relatively easy. Lasqueti has lots to offer and we can connect you to others that may be even more interesting to you...but the current Plandemic has dampened this dramatically, I'm afraid.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We mostly eat and almost always cook vegetarian, but with an abundance of eggs, we aren't vegan, but you can be.

    Gardening here primarily means watering everyday. The chickens love our kale so culling older leaves and pulling unwanted plants (grass in particular) gives the chickens a tasty snack. An hour a day would be plenty of time for watering without rushing and being water-wise. We have apple, peach, and plum trees, 3 kinds of berries, a greenhouse and two gardens.

    We're pretty easy going and enjoy most moments of everyday. You'll be encouraged to do so, too.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would be welcome to tent for as long as you'd like and have access to cool or hot showers. If you need more than a place to tent, we can arrange for our Guest Tent that is an old prospector's tent on a cedar platform to be available for part of your stay. Depending on timing, one of our cob cottages could also be available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is in a forest on a hill, overlooking a marsh down a very quiet road, accessible only by passenger ferry. There is a great swimming area about 4km away (20 minutes by bike) and a quiet rocky beach about 30 minutes away by jogging.

    Water use at our home is VERY limited; we have enough for drinking, cooking and washing, but long showers or baths are not at all available except during the rainy season (Nov-Mar). We collect our own water from a seasonal spring that only runs intermittently from December to March. Grey (used) water is used in the garden.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 883732378922