Help around the house from exterior painting to housesitting in New Orleans, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 208 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/03/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there! I'm a 33 year old New Orleans resident, globetrotter, and general unicorn. I'm working on my small business and am so overwhelmed some help around the house would be amazing. I've been an avid couchsurfing Host for 15 years. Figured I might as well get some slaves instead. ;P I prefer hosting shorter term - 1 month max. But open to other arrangements depending.

    I bought my first home last year and have been slowly working on it with a few other creative friends. The interior is finally done and now I want to get the outside done! Muralists very welcome!

    If you have experience with exterior painting, this is my MOST needed assistance. I am happy for it to be slowly accomplished but really would appreciate it being done well. I will absolutely provide good quality food and a bicycle, and a Pick Up truck if you can drive stick shift/manual. This job as it is going to be a bitch ;)

    I will be assisting and hopefully sucker someone else as well. I have all the paint...just need help and a little direction!

    I also say "landscaping" but really I just need someone who understands basic water management or gravel/cement work etc. I want to learn a creative way to divert water away from the house or use a rain barrel/system. I also have trees which need planting and I would like help learning. The backyard is huge and needs mowing often and I'm so busy all of this would be super helpful, even though it won't take much time.

    For cleaning/organizing/cooking/housesitting - I sometimes have to leave overnight or for a couple days so watching the house and dog would be rad. He is old and mostly sleeps all day and takes very little maintenance. Again, I'm super busy trying to get my small business in order so general household needs would be a massive help.

    My humor is irreverent, my moral compass is a bit skewed and New Orleans is carefree and lawless, so keep that in mind when requesting to stay. My neighborhood is awesome, but do a little research on New Orleans and the area called "Treme" (there is also a great HBO show set in this neighborhood called Treme) to make sure it is a good fit for you!

    Although I respect most viewpoints, anyone staunchly conservative or liberal will not enjoy their stay with me. I appreciate and respect all faiths and most viewpoints, however, I do not want to discuss religion or politics. I get enough of that from my parents ;)

    Much love and talk soon!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    New Orleans is an amazing city...I don't think I need to go on about how great it is!

  • Help

    Help

    Listed in my bio.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    3 bedroom house. Two rooms will be furnished and available.

    Bikes included, it is a quick 5 min bike ride/20 minute walk to the French Quarter.

    1989 Chevy pick-up for anyone who knows how to drive stick/manual.

    You will have your own bedroom with a bathroom.
    I have washer/dryer, WIFI w/Netflix, hulu, HBO.
    Off street parking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are endless things to do around NOLA, you will love it. Getting around is fairly easy with the bike share I provide (I have two memberships)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    1-2 hrs day max? More project based, not hours :)

Art projects with recycled materials
Dog & kitten sitting.
painting rooms
Back of house before adding awning and refinishing. Needs painting.
2500 sq ft yard that needs design
I also take care of & trap, neuter and release feral cats. Crazy cat lady.
Mardi Gras Madness!
Living Room - an example of the space we created from an empty white room

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 762627795994