Join us at our eco-homestead and forest in Oregon, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 186 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The world is sharing a dream, a dream of a renewed connection to the earth, and to fellow humans, where laughter, love, and pleasure are mixed with hard work, ethical principles, and meaningful contributions. We're working hard to bring that dream to reality on our 40-acre eco-farm and forest. Do you want to come and be a part of bringing this dream to life?

    We need clear minds, strong hands, and big hearts. Our primary need is for assistance on our beautiful farm. At this time we are at capacity for Workawayers, but we are also seeking local community members in the PDX/ Oregon City area who are interested in being regular volunteers. For those who are a great fit, we may also offer longterm and permanent membership to join our community.

    We have many wonderful individuals who live on this property, ranging in age from late teens (two exactly, who live here part time) and an array of adults in their early 20s to late 60s. The number of individuals here fluctuates between 10 to 20 at a time. We're also four dogs, two cats, forty chickens, five ducks, one goose, and two pigs (seven piglets as of 6/1) and we all take care of each other.

    Among those who call this space home include:

    Gabriella is a sexuality educator who founded what is now an international organization focused on sex-positivity which encompasses, sexual health, consent, LGBTQ issues, reproductive rights, body positivity, ecosexuality, and more. (needless to say, we're friendly to all people of all persuasions, orientations, faiths, and nationalities). Gabriella speaks French, Italian, some Spanish, and some Dutch. She is down to earth, intellectual, silly, and sultry. Gabriella is married to John.

    John is a licensed clinical social worker in private practice and is the father of two boys, fifteen and eighteen who are with us every other week. John is a deep thinker. A former pastor and youth minister whose love of God transitioned from a Christian framework to a humanistic one. He's a great listener, empathetic, and has a wry sense of humor.

    John's boys are both musicians, easy-going, quiet, and mature for their ages.

    Levi is our farmer in charge of growing delicious food. He is also a chef. One of his frequent gigs is cooking for the Joshua Tree Music Festival staff and he cooks for our big events. He is quiet and contemplative, but when he engages it's a treat.

    Nicholas and Sasha are Workawayers who are with us long-term. They are into acro yoga, food as medicine, conscious connection, animals, and nature.

    Drake is passionate about intentional community develop and whole systems design. She is the co-executive director and board-vice president of a sustainability focused nonprofit in Portland, and also works as an event planner and intuitive. She lives in a skoolie bus on the property and is slowly renovating it to build skills in tiny home development. Around here, she assists with volunteer management, public relations and much more!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope to learn from you as much as you learn from us. Especially if you have knowledge or skills related to farming, forestry, community building, computer skills, but we're also interested in ideas, worldview, and solutions to the world's problems.

    Gabriella grew up in Europe and has traveled extensively, John has also traveled quite a bit. We're very interested in learning more about other countries, traditions, myths, and faiths. We are agnostic and don't wish to be proselytized, but we want to learn what gives people meaning and purpose. We would also prefer to discuss politics rationally without prejudice.

  • Help

    Help

    Primary work includes assisting on the farm, from 8:00am-12:00pm, Monday through Friday. We also share all cleaning and cooking duties in the evening.

    In general, skillsets we are interested in include:

    • Organic gardening
    • Forest maintenance, including planting and noxious weed abatement
    • Animal husbandry
    • Cleaning stalls
    • Installing fences
    • Food preparation, canning, preserving
    • Making tinctures and salves
    • Making outdoor furniture with wood slabs
    • Repairs and maintenance
    • Yoga or dance lessons
    • Orchard care
    • Landscape care
    • Computer technology
    • Social media
    • Dog training
    • Piano, guitar, or djembe lessons
    • Chop wood

  • Languages spoken

    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Dutch: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our gorgeous 7600ft home is a lodge built with logs felled right here on the property. We have eight bedrooms and seven bathrooms, a chef's kitchen, a dining porch, a sleeping porch, and a loft area for yoga, reading, or lounging. And we have a hot tub. There is lots of room for you to enjoy! You will be at liberty to decide how much privacy you want versus how much communal time. There is also a river that runs through our property for swimming and floating.

    Accommodations vary depending on who else is here an what your needs are, but typically, you will either have your own room with a private bath or with a semi-private bath or we have an eight-person bunk room with its own bath. Camping (all equipment provided) is also an option if preferred. All the beds and bedding are super comfortable. Please let us know what your needs and wants are.

    All meals will be provided, much of it will come from the land! We will take turns cooking (don't worry if you can't cook, we love to feed people!) Your dietary restrictions will be respected and provided for. Please know though that we're omnivores who try to eat heavily on the plant side.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Since we're only 20 minutes outside of Portland, everything you can do in Portland you can do from here. Also, we're not far from the coast, the mountains, or the desert. Public transportation is a bit difficult, but there is almost always someone coming and going into town and we'll be happy to give you a lift (John works in Portland and the rest of us go frequently).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)





Host ref number: 874649947983