Help with vegetable and flower gardens in British Columbia, Canada



Favourited 51 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are an active retired couple, with enough interests and work to keep us till we are 130 years young. Our home is on six acres in a rural enclave of about 20 houses and we are about a 20 minute drive to town. We try to grow as much of our own food as possible using organic methods. Our gardens are composed of a large greenhouse , vegetables, berries, we also try to raise some livestock each year. This year we will have 7 pigs. As necessary as food is for the body, we have incorporated flower gardens on to our property, realising that it is important to also have food for the soul.
    A host of outdoor activities lies within a 50 KM radius, eg: hiking ,rock climbing, skiing, caving, diving, mountain biking, and sailing, In addition, this part of Vancouver Island has the fourth most densely concentrated areas of artists in Canada. We have a multitude of musical and foodie events in the Comox Valley throughout the year. There is a local restaurant /pub (with live music on weekends) about a 10 minute walk from our home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy having new guests, also have hosted international ESL students for 20 years, enjoying the intercultural exchange both in foods and customs. We would include our Workaway guests into our activities as much as they are willing.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    The main areas that we need help are in the maintenance and expansion of both the vegetable and flower gardens. I also could use a hand later in the summer re-siding part of the house, no experience needed, for me an extra pair of hands and a willing attitude to learn are qualification enough. Also if you are willing to share your cooking skills/cuisines we would love to learn about new foods.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Your accommodation would be a separate bedroom with a queen sized bed within our home. Breakfast and lunch are generally simple, and supper is most often a hot home cooked meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As our home is 20 KM from town, one has the option of using the one of five public transit bus trips per day, or if you have a car even better. Mentioned earlier are the various activities to take in through our region. The house is in a quiet area, on a clear night one can see a most magnificent panorama of stars , because we don't have a lot of light pollution. We do have sea lions within a 10 minute walking distance to our home (in season) and have several hiking areas close by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 744635799542