Island life within a small community on the Inner Hebrides, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 147 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on a small island on the Inner Hebridees of Scotland.
    It is remote, wild and beautiful.
    I am a person who in the past has enjoyed traveling and volunteering abroad.
    I enjoy merging myself in cultures different from my own and learning about and enjoying new experiences.
    I have two children so it is not always tranquil even if the surroundings are!
    I also have two cats who are mostly chilled.
    I have been a Vegetarian for many many years (though occasionaly eat some fish)
    I also enjoy working out so if your into fitness too maybe we can swop our workout tips and routines :-)
    *PLEASE NOTE*
    Only apply if you are genuinely interested and intend to join me and my family on a Workaway experience.
    Unfortunately I have been let down at the last minute far too many times which has proved disruptive and isn't fair on other Workawayers who I have had to turn down and then discover the original Workaway changed their mind/plans.

    Thanks

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As an Artist/craftsperson I would welcome the opportunity to exchange skills/techniques.
    As a Singer I would be happy to help folk improve their confidence in singing and would love to sing harmonies with others.
    I would be open to help in learning more guitar skills, so musicians very welcome..any left-handers!?
    I enjoy learning new languages and about other cultures.
    I believe this to be an enriching experience for myself as well as my children.
    It is important that you also genuinely enjoy being around young children and spending time with them.
    Therefore experience with toddlers would be very welcome.
    I am of course happy to help you improve your English but if you already have a good level of understanding and communication then that would be helpful.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I would appreciate help with any, not all of the following!

    * Art Projects- making/creating.
    Exchanging skills. I can share my knowledge and practices and perhaps learn new ones.
    * Gardening- mowing, pruning, weeding, digging, planting (not a large garden)
    * D.I.Y/building projects- some light external repairs and construction. Painting inside/out.
    * Childminding and creative play- informal.
    * Creating/cooking family meals-
    We can learn from each other.
    * Help with daily life
    Cleaning, hoovering, washing up
    * Help with computers/Internet- basic.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I speak a little French and a few words of Arabic (Egyptian) and am keen to learn more. I can offer English classes.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sleeping arrangements will be a combination of a tent with sleeping mats, blankets/duvets all provided (and a hot water bottle if needed!) in my sheltered back garden overlooking the sea.
    Or my front room if weather a bit windy/rainy.
    I can provide you with your own room from mid August onwards.

    We will aim to eat at least one meal together a day (probably evening) as I feel that this is part of the social side of a workaway experience.
    But possibly breakfast or lunch too depending on other commitments.
    Lets keep it fairly informal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There will be plenty of time off to explore the island, either on foot, bike, canoe or car.
    Catch a ferry to our neighbouring Isle, or if staying longer, an 'Island hopper' ticket may appeal to visit further afield.
    We have an abundance of wildlife, seals, dolpins, basking sharks, the occasional Orcha.
    A rich diversity of birds, butterflies, rare bees, insects, flora and fauna.

    Our modern Community Centre has a Gym and facilities for computer
    use/internet.

    We are remote, with very few amenities, so this opportunity would potentialy suit a self sufficient person who enjoys the peace and tranquility that islands can offer and who is also comfortable in their own company.
    Having said that we Islanders know how to let our hair down and enjoy ourselves at times :-D

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If working online the connection would be via your own mobile/laptop etc (my eldest child uses this to do school work, communicate, watch movies ets) The connection is usualy reliable but if any issues arise-due to us being remote- The local community centre which is a great building (with a gym etc) is available for remote working. They also have computers for hire.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    parking is just outside my house with adequate space for campers/motorhomes etc

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 738539653235