Help with restoration of an old barn near Loch Ness, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 153 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    156

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on a hill in the Scottish Highlands and have inherited some old buildings which are ancient and broken.

    Over the last few years the project has been to repoint or rebuild the stone and build a new roof. It's ongong and a labour of love.

    Also in the mix is carpentry with sawn and roundwood and working on trees in the adjacent woodland. So plenty variety.

    I enjoy food, wine and social. Often this revolves around lighting the stove and sitting around chatting into the small hours.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Set in a scenic hill top location with 360 degree views of the Highlands and in easy cycling distance from Loch Ness, the location is ideal to visit as a traveller, meet local people and experience the Highland crofting way of life.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Loads of things, from woodworking and stone repair through to general labour.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in a converted old barn which is well insulated and comfortable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Would appreciate volunteers keen to learn and fun to work with as well as seasoned builders.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 738379621833