Help out at my idyllic, traditional home on the North Kent Downs, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 323 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in an old farmhouse on the North Downs in Kent, an area designated as an area of outstanding natural beauty in the south East of England. Its a country property of around seven acres, surrounded by fields, meadows and and woodland.

    I share my house with friends and lodgers, and also have a couple of shepherds huts that I rent out to people who want to escape their busy lives for the peace and beauty of this area. A few people might be staying here, and it is a relaxed, friendly, sociable place to stay.

    The property is secluded, but the South East of England is not particularly remote, and is near to many local places of interest as well as thriving towns and cities. London is just over an hour away by train, and Canterbury and Whitstable are nearby.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers could improve their English, learn about living in the English countryside, and the way of life and history of this part of the world.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a long list of projects that I would really like help with. What we do depends on the time of year, which projects appeal most to your interest and skills, and what are the urgent priorities.

    We are growing a new wildflower meadow and orchard, and renovating an ancient meadow and mature garden and particularly need people prepared to help outside. I am looking for volunteers to help with general gardening maintenance jobs like mowing, clearing weeds and watering. There is lots to do, and its very physical - if you aren't fit, energetic and willing to work outside then this isn't really for you. Practical building and maintenance skills would also be particularly welcome, to help realise dreams of new garden structures and to maintain old ones.

    I work from home and you may be working by yourself (if travelling or staying here alone) for periods of time, although I will mostly be around to chat, eat together and help when needed.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guests may stay in a room in an annex to the house, in guest accommodation or in the house itself. Three meals a day are provided. Self catering may be available in winter months, when the guest kitchen is available for volunteer use with prior agreement.

    If you are able to help with food preparation that would be appreciated, but it isn't essential if it's really not your thing. Please talk to me beforehand about any dietary preferences.

    Occasionally we love to relax with a drink over a meal but heavy drinking, or drug taking, is not acceptable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The property is a couple of miles from the nearest (irregular) public transport, so if you want to spend a lot of time exploring widely through out Kent you would need your own vehicle.

    Some of our guests come by bicycle, and there are many beautiful cycling and walking routes around here. The nearest pub is just a 15 minute walk away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.5)


















Host ref number: 734114819596