Help in a beautiful Loch Ness setting - Scottish Highlands.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 323 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    277

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Artist and writer's home in a large historic 18th century country house, with beautiful gardens set in extensively wooded grounds with a stream, close to popular village near Loch Ness, Highlands of Scotland. Non-smokers, cat lovers - our two cats are very friendly. We are friendly, well travelled and offer a warm welcome by a roaring open fire. We muddle along in a few languages and enjoy helping anyone who wants to improve their English. Every season is a beautiful time in the Highlands with the forests and the glens changing colour: current projects include internal and external cleanup, repair and redecoration, major garden maintenance, preparation, planting, some tree pruning, log splitting and maybe some garden structural alterations. We like cooking, are part time vegetarians and love it when workaway guests cook.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Friendly well travelled cultured couple welcoming international visitors with stimulating conversation in their family home dating from the Jacobite rebellion. Located in a rural setting, just a short walk from a village popular with tourists, with transport links to the city of Inverness 25 minutes away. Mountains, lochs and forests - a perfect opportunity to practice shinrin yoku.....

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for strong capable person keen on garden maintenance/repairs, fixing garden walls/fences, as well as internal redecoration and DIY tasks. Both require energetic and enthusiastic assistance sought in exchange for board and lodging, good food, films, fun and friendship.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Greek: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large old detached house and grounds providing private bedroom, shared bathroom, broadband, TV, film, and library. Eating informally with hosts but with independent access to the kitchen if required.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Perfect location for hill walking, enjoying the countryside with historic castle and visitor centre (an ideal spot for Outlander fans in a house with a direct connection to the Jacobites and Culloden). Artist often busy in the studio most days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 732249336312