Help me around my home and garden while exploring New Zealand, Methven



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    I am a 37 year old female who works full time in the ski industry. I am currently off work due to a snapped Achilles. I live in Methven, New Zealand, which is a small farming and ski town. There are lots of great outdoor activities and with the city only an hour away this is a great place to live. I like to read and learn new things. English is my first language and I speak a limited amount of Japanese.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am able to provide support with learning English and showcase kiwi food and culture. You will also learn about edible gardens. Happy to facilitate any learning that is requested.

  • Help


    Due to injury I am unable to carry out many tasks outside the house.

    Help is required in the garden with general garden needs and landscaping, this will consist of: digging new garden beds, planting plants and small trees, transplanting existing herbs, painting the fence(s), stringing wire, wedding, mowing lawns, stacking wood.

    Other possible tasks would also include some furniture moving, building shelving, building planter boxes, hanging mailboxes, etc.

    If you posses the ability to carry out some of the tasks please feel free to be in contact as most of them just require good physical fitness and not all tasks need to be completed in one stay. Tasks can be varied to suit your skills.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to practice my Japanese. I am interested in re-learning Spanish and also learning French.

  • Accommodation


    I have a new home without much landscaping, where you would have your own bedroom and bathroom. There will be a shared kitchen and living space. The house is upstairs with beautiful mountain views. There is lots of outdoor area to relax in as well. The bedroom has one queen bed and also an ottoman that pulls out into a single bed. The bathroom is a shower, single sink, and toilet.

    This opportunity would suit a single, a couple or two friends.

    I would provide continental breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as tea and coffee. Water is safe to drink from the tap.

    This property is non-smoking.

    It is also a pet free home, although sometimes my friends bring their dogs (outside only) when they come to visit.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a local mountain bike park and skate park, many fantastic hikes, the beautiful Rakaia Gorge and in town there are the new Opuke Hot Pools which are super relaxing. This is also a great access point for the TA trail.

    There is no local transport but most things are within walking distance. I also have a bike that you are welcome to use.

    By arrangement I am open to helping with transport to/from Christchurch airport as well as local activities that you may want to participate in.

    Christchurch city is an hour by car and has a chairlift accessed mountain bike park, as well as some lovely beaches.

    I am a clean and tidy person (although less capable currently due to injury) and tend to cook in bulk. I am a meat eater, open to vegetarian cooking (although my recipes are limited). Generally I am quite active.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a desk in the shared living space. Possibility of having a table in a separate space. I have access to a printer and unlimited fibre broadband.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have off street parking and you are welcome to use facilities inside

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    The fence is not suitable to keep animals in but have a large lawn so dogs are welcome outside (not in the house) and can be tied on a long chain so they have a large space to run around. Other animals may be accommodated by discussion.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 729354713792

Feedback (1)



Join our home, help with gardening and enjoy beautiful surroundings of Auckland, New Zealand
Help me with some general farm chores in Upper Hutt, New Zealand