Come and enjoy walking and cycling along the old farms in Winterswijk Woold, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple (60+ years), living on a small farm in the East of the Netherlands, ‘de Achterhoek’. It’s located about 2 kilometers from the border with Germany.
    De Achterhoek is known for its rolling landscape, with a lot of green forests.
    You can endlessly walk and bike along the old farms and along paths where you will not likely come across another being.
    The village Winterswijk is 7,5 km from our house. You have to go their by bicycle or car.
    Back to our farm: we have Icelandic horses, sheep, chickens, a dog and two cats (who mostly lives outside). We take our horses on rides a lot, they are our absolute passion. Our (grand) children live on the other side of the country, but frequently visit us to enjoy the peace and quiet, the animals and our company :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you’re interested, we’d love to tell you about “de Achterhoek” and the surroundings of our farm.
    Our passion lies mostly with the animals. We can tell you a lot about this. If you like horses, you might like to ride them and help taking care of them.
    We will cook for you, and you might want to share your cooking as well. We are very open to enjoy what you and your background bring to the table :-)
    In the evenings we can make a fire outside and exchange experiences over a drink.

  • Help

    Help

    There is always something to do on a farm.
    We are looking for visitors that do not mind getting their hands dirty and are physically fit to do some work.
    We have some painting work to do; barn doors, the hen house, the garden shed. Mostly outside.

    We have to check the fences around the premises and fixing parts that need work.
    In short, a lot of different chores:
    Gardening, building, general maintenance, etcetera.
    We do expect about 5 hours of work a day, 5 days a week. You have to work independent.

    If you plan on coming with your partner and he/she is not quite the builder, there are many other tasks around the farm, such as painting, gardening, cleaning, mowing the lawn, taking care of the animals, etcetera.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are different sleeping options. We have a mini caravan, for 1 person, in the winter it is to cold in the caravan. We also have a room available in the house.
    In the Netherlands we usually eat a hot meal in the evenings, in the mornings yogurt or bread and for lunch bread as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport around. It’s about 7.5 km to the train station of Winterswijk. We’re happy to drive you there. From Bocholt (Germany) there is a Flixbus running ().

    We expect our guests to work independently and be prepared to engage in brainstorming and discussing course of action.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 551678472427