Help a family run a wildlife rescue centre - Long term placements possible - Herefordshire, UK

  • United Kingdom
  • Favourited 807 times
  • Last activity: 15 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    This is an updated message. Please read carefully. We are really hoping to find a longer term placement for someone who can gain experience of managing an animal facility by remaining with us for around 12 months. We will provide food Accomodation and some expenses. Please only apply at this time if you are able to come for a longer time period. At least 6 months. Thank you.

    We are a family run wildlife rescue centre in a very rural and beautiful part of Herefordshire. We are only looking for a WorkAwayer that can stay for 1 month or more. Because the work is very complex involving caring for many different species of animals, your English needs to be a reasonable level. If your English is a lower level you may be given simpler jobs to do in order to ensure that mistranslation does not put you or the animals at risk.

    Our home sits next to a nature reserve and lake and is approximately 10 miles from Hereford city centre. It is an active wildlife rescue centre and sanctuary for as many as 70 different species where emergency rescues can be arriving at any time of the day. You will primarily assist in hands-off caring for these animals and are expected to help with feeding, cleaning, and maintenance of enclosures and gardens. On the worse days it can be cold, wet and muddy and the animals still need to be cared for so you have to be fit, self-motivated, very flexible and enthusiastic! There are plenty of support roles to take on in the running of a wildlife rescue centre.

    Normally we have one or two volunteers saying at any time. The place is paradise in terms of natural beauty but best avoided if you are highly social and need the company of other people your age.

    You will be sharing a family home and we expect you to clean and tidy up after yourself, respect our family home and belongings and have a flexible attitude towards sharing chores and working together at meal times. Our home is in a beautiful rural location with lots of walks and wildlife to enjoy and experience in a friendly and laid-back setting.

    Hereford itself is an historical market town with a stunning cathedral and river to enjoy. There is lots to see and do and keep yourself entertained on your days off.

    We are currently only taking people with extensive animal care experience or showing a deep commitment to animal care/natural history or zoological careers.

    Despite this, we will only ask you to participate in care for our animals if you have demonstrated in your first two weeks an aptitude for this type of work.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be taught how to care for the animals and their ecology. . Our household is a lively one and is wonderfully welcoming and warm. It’s full of books, music, nature, peace and laughter. There is no television but a household mix of French and Spanish to learn and exchange and be entertained by.

  • UK chairty

    Registered charity

    This host is a registered charity in the UK and is looking for help with their charity project.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    There are two main aspects to this help:

    1. You will assist with the wildlife rescue centre in every way. It is physically hard feeding all the wildlife at various times during the day, including building, cleaning and repairing cages and enclosures, managing the waste, general household chores, and helping with cooking and cleaning. You will have to do tasks independently, be self-sufficient and must have initiative, common sense and dedication. Due to the need to return animals to the wild, and due the nature of wild animal care, you will not be able to handle animals except specifically to help them in their rehabilitation or enrichment of their captive life. You will completely surrounded by animals and nature.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Spanish French

  • Accommodation


    Double bedroom (possibly with en-suite bathroom), shared kitchen, shared living space and courtyard.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home is a ten minute bicycle ride to the nearest shop and 45 minute bicycle (25 minute drive) from Hereford city centre. There is public transport available from the village into Hereford city centre. Food (food for you to prepare ) is provided and if you have specialist requirements we will allow you space to organise these for yourself. All snacks and other requirements must be met by yourself. You will need to bring appropriate clothing and footwear (hiking boots/ wellington boots) for a rural life. Please mention if you have access to a car or camper van.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Approximately 5 hours per day 5 days a week

Host ref number: 543133814335

Feedback (6)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.3)

Au pair help for a sailing family in Southampton, UK
Help out with family life in Moseley village, Birmingham, UK